top of page

Green Chile Enchilada Soup

Soups are one of my favorite foods to eat. So I really love when I can make another recipe I love into soup. That is what this recipe is. It takes the wonderful flavors from enchiladas and makes them even better! This soup can be a meal all by itself, it is that good, and that filling!

Green Chile Enchilada Soup

I love how versatile this recipe is. Sometimes I use bean, sometimes not. Sometimes I top it with cheese or sour cream, sometimes I eat it just the way it is. I have also pretended it is a dip and eaten it with chips. You can also serve it with rice. This soup can be done in a crockpot or in a pot on the stove, I have done both and it is great either way.

Green Chile Enchilada Soup

Ingredients

  • 1/2 onion

  • 4 carrots

  • 32 oz chicken Broth

  • 1/2 cup water

  • 28 oz mild green enchilada sauce

  • 8 oz diced green chiles

  • 1 TB chili powder

  • 1 TB garlic

  • 1 TB cumin

  • 2 cups corn

  • 15 oz black beans

  • 2 Chicken breasts (Cooked and cut into bite sized pieces)

  • 8 oz cream cheese

  • Sour cream and/or cheese to top, if desired

Directions

  1. Cut onion into small pieces. Peel and cut carrot into small pieces. Add them to the pan, you can add oil if you want. Cook for 4 minutes on medium, until softened, do not let them burn.

  2. Add chicken broth, water, enchilada sauce, green chiles, chili powder, garlic, cumin corn and black beans.

  3. In another pot, place chicken breast in water and cook for 15 minutes, or until done. Take chicken out of pot and let cool for a few minutes, then cut up into bite sized pieces. Add to soup.

  4. Cook for 30 minutes, or until carrots are tender.

  5. Cut up cream cheese and add. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring often.

  6. Serve with toppings or with rice. Enjoy!

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page