top of page

Low Carb Cheese Bread Sticks

I love cheese so I decided to experiment with making some low carb cheese bread sticks. I wanted them to resembles traditional bread sticks, but I knew they would not be exact since I was going to use almond flour. These turned out perfect, they are cheese and have a texture that is like traditional bread sticks! I make them frequently as a side dish and I always make extra because they make a great snack.

I like the cheese on mine to be pretty brown, I love crunchy cheese! You can cook yours less if you like, or more. You can also change the types of cheese you use, I usually use mozzarella and cheddar because it is my favorite combination of cheeses, but it is also really good with cheddar- jack, colby, havarti and pepperjack, in any combination! As long as the cheese melts good, it should be fine on here.

I cook my crust for a few minutes before I add the cheese, but I do not let it get too brown, I want o give my cheese time to melt and brown without burning the crust.

This recipe is very similar to the recipe I use to make low carb pizza, but I have made a few more changes since it needs a little more flavor since the only toppings will be cheese. You can add any herbs or spices you like to the crust to give it a little more flavor, experiment and see what you like.

Another bonus to this recipe is, it is gluten free. There are so many people that either cannot have gluten due to health reasons, or just prefer not to because of personal reasons. This gives gluten free people a nice, easy, delicious side dish that does not take much time.

 

Low Carb Cheese

Bread Sticks

Ingredients

  • 2 TBSP cream cheese

  • 1.5 cups mozzarella cheese

  • 3/4 cup almond flour

  • 1 egg, beaten

  • 1 tsp garlic salt

  • 1 tsp onion powder

  • 3 TBSP parmesan cheese

  • toppings- 1 tbsp butter, 2 tsp garlic powder, 1 cup mozzarella, 1 cup cheddar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees

  2. Put cream cheese and mozzarella cheese in bowl, microwave for one minute, stir, microwave for 30 seconds

  3. Add almond flour, egg, garlic salt, and onion powder, mix well

  4. Add parmesan cheese, mix

  5. Wet hands, then put dough on pan, I use a silicone baking pad so the dough does not stick. Push the edges out until the dough is the thickness you like. I like mine pretty thin, pierce with a fork all over

  6. Put in oven for about 5 minutes, then add butter, garlic powder and cheese then put back in the oven for 7-9 minutes. When taken out of oven, cut into pieces and place on baking racks. This allows the crust to get crunchy

Comments


Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page