top of page

Crockpot Turkey Legs

I decided to make some crockpot turkey legs after I made some smoked turkey legs since I had some leftover. Sometimes the weather is not the best so using the smoker is not an option. It is too time consuming to have to go outside and check it when it is really cold out. So, I thought I would put some in the crockpot and see what I thought. I was very impressed!

I do not always season the turkey legs when I put them in the smoker, they have plenty of flavor when cooked in the smoke. Since I was using my crockpot I decided to use some seasoning, I used garlic powder, seasoning salt and black pepper. You can use any combination of seasonings that sound good to you, I wanted to not over season them since I was trying them for the first time, the second time I made teriyaki turkey legs and those were delicious too!

I did not bring the turkey legs since they would be cooking very slow and I was leaving the skin on them. They were very tender and moist when they came out, which was exactly what I was looking for.

Another bonus to cooking them in the crockpot is, you get juice. I love to make homemade gravy from juice so this was perfect. I removed the legs then removed the juice and little tidbits and transferred it to a pan and made gravy, everyone loved it. It was like having Thanksgiving without all the work!

 

Crockpot Turkey Legs

Ingredients

  • 4 turkey legs

  • 1 TBSP garlic powder

  • 1/2 TBSP seasoning salt

  • 1 tsp black pepper

  • 5 carrots, peeled and cut into large chunks

  • 1/2 onion, chopped

  • 4 stalks celery, chopped

Directions

  1. Place turkey legs and vegetables in crockpot, seasoning with seasonings

  2. Turn crockpot onto low, cook for 7- 8 hours, until turkey legs are 165 degrees

  3. Let turkey legs sit for 15 minutes when done

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page