top of page

Low Carb Chicken and Vegetable Alfredo

I love Alfredo, it is one of the things I missed the most when I decided to go to a low carb diet. I love love love Alfredo sauce but it was made with flour so I did not eat it very often. But then I remembered that I can make it with heavy whipping cream, which is very low in carbs, so I decided to give it a try, it turned out delicious. I pretty much keep a small amount in my refrigerate at all times now. I use it for things like low carb chicken and vegetable Alfredo, as a dip for low carb garlic bread sticks or vegetables, as sauce for pizza and even for soup.

It is actually easier to make than my other Alfredo sauce, you just have to mix the butter, heavy whipping cream, parmesan cheese and garlic powder together. It is so simple! I do not miss the noodles at all, the vegetables and chicken filled me up and satisfied me by themselves. If you need pasta, look into a lower carb option or a noodle alternative like spiral cut vegetables. There are so many options now, and they taste much better than years ago.

I chose to use cauliflower and broccoli this time, but it is great with any vegetable you like. I have tried it with green beans, mushrooms and onions and that was delicious also. Even just chicken is great! This is a recipe that is highly adaptable to what you have. No chicken? Ground turkey makes a great substitute. Do you want more cheese? Add more parmesan or maybe some mozzarella. Vegetarian? Leave the chicken out and use extra vegetables. You can pretty much use anything you want and just use the Alfredo sauce as a base.

 

Low Carb Chicken and Vegetables

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts, chopped

  • 2 tsp olive oil

  • 1 TBSP butter

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream

  • 3/4 cup parmesan cheese

  • 4 tsp garlic powder

  • 1 tsp seasoning salt

  • 4 cups cauliflower and broccoli

  • green onions, optional

Directions

  1. Put cauliflower and broccoli in a pot on high heat, when it boils turn it down to medium and cook for about 6 minutes or tender

  2. Put olive oil in pan, let heat for 2 minutes, add chopped chicken, season with 2 tsp garlic and 1 tsp seasoning salt. Cook until chicken is cooked all the way through, remove from heat

  3. Place butter in pan, melt over medium heat, do not let it boil , add heavy cream and stir, and again, do not let mixture boil. Add parmesan cheese and 2 tsp garlic, let simmer on low for a few minutes. Sauce will thicken

  4. Add chicken and vegetables to sauce, top with green onions, if desired

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page