top of page

Movie Stub Shadow Box

For years, I’ve been saving up all of the stubs from my movie theater trips. After a while, they start to scatter, create clutter, etc. I had saved them with the good intentions of making something to put them in, and never really got around to it. But then, while taking a trip to the local thrift store, I found exactly what I needed. A 6x8 shadow box. It wasn’t too big, didn’t have any scratches, and the frame was flawlessly black. At a whopping $.75, I made the purchase.

I’ll admit, it sat around for a while. At the time, I had a full-time job, which meant that I was momming and cleaning when I wasn’t at work or sleeping. This ended up being a great thing. I always peruse the (teeny tiny) fabric section at my local Wal-Mart, and on one of my visits, I saw the perfect silky red fabric. Since the shadow box was on the smaller side, a thin fabric, in my opinion, wouldn’t over-power or cause things to be too bulky. If I had purchased a larger box, I would have searched for the velvet. I bought a yard, which I believe came to about $1.50, and headed home.

I finally made the time to put all of this together, the project really only taking about an hour. First, I took apart the shadow box, removing the glass and setting everything aside. I had to decide whether or not I wanted the frame to be portrait or landscape when I had it on the wall, and chose for portrait as I thought it would handle dropping in new stubs better. Using a ruler, I found the center on the top and measured out an inch on each side, this ended up being too big so I just used one of the stubs laying around and drew a rough sketch around that. Since I am extremely clumsy with any sort of power tools, I had my husband drill the slot within the sketch.

In the meantime, I took the back piece and started figuring out how I wanted to glue my fabric. I attempted to do pleating, to better replicate being in a movie theater, but I really sucked at that. So I used some spray adhesive, and pressed the fabric on flat, leaving a few “bumpy” spots to keep it from being too perfect. I trimmed the fabric, leaving about a ¼ inch around the edges as the fabric was beginning to fray. After cleaning the glass piece, I put all the pieces back together, found it a home on the wall, then dropped all of my stubs inside. It’s place on the wall is close to my front door, that way when I return home from a movie, I can just drop the stub right inside!

You can use any shadow box size, any fabric you’d like inside, and you can even use scrapbook paper instead. I made another box for my polaroid photos, using scrapbook paper instead of fabric, and it turned out really nice.

Happy Crafting!

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page