top of page

Stromboli

Pizza Friday is my favorite day of the week. Then only problem I have with Pizza Friday is when I am trying to decide which pizza I want to make. Stromboli wins often. I love it. It is so cheesy and delicious. You can use any ingredients that you want, which is another thing I love. For this post, I am sharing my pepperoni and sausage stromboli and my ham and pineapple stromboli. I love them both. Sometimes I make my own crust, other times I use Pillsbury already made crusts. I like both so it usually just depends on how much time I have. If I will not have much time, I use the Pillsbury thin pizza crust from the refrigerator section at the store. It is so easy to just roll it out and top with ingredients! Everyone can pick their own toppings and have their own section of the stromboli so its perfect for the whole family. I do not put sauce in mine, I put the sauce on the side as a dipping sauce.

First I roll out my pizza crust, if you are making your own, prepare it and let it rise the proper amount of time, then proceed with these steps. I use a silicon mat under my crust so it is easy to roll and it does not stick to the pan. My crust still comes out crunchy this way also. Once my crust is the shape and thickness I like, I top it with my toppings. For this one I used half pepperoni and spicy sausage and half ham and pineapple. With extra cheese, of course. Leave about an inch of dough on the edges so you can press it together when you are done rolling.

Once I have my toppings on, I start to roll, this is made very easy since my silicon mat is under the dough. The dough does not stick to it, which I love!

I use the mat itself to help roll, this way my dough does not get stretched out and does not get holes in it. I keep rolling until I am at the edge of the dough.

Once I get to the edge I begin to push the dough together so the yummy ingredients do not try to escape while they are cooking. After I get done making sure the roll is sealed, I pinch the ends together also.

Next I make slits all the way down the dough. Now it is ready for the oven! Cooking times vary, depending on how large the stromboli ends up being. This one cooked in about 45 minutes but I have made some in 30 minutes, so start checking after 30 minutes!

The finished project looks great and it makes the whole house smell so good! When I take it out of the oven, I put it on a cookie rack to cook for at least 15 minutes. This gives the insides a chance to cool so they don't come spilling out as soon as you cut it.

Stromboli

Ingredients

  • Pillsbury thin crust pizza dough or make your own

  • 20 slices pepperoni

  • 1/2 cup spicy sausage (I use Jimmy Dean Hot sausage)

  • 1/4 cup onions

  • 1/2 cup ham

  • 1/2 cup pineapple

  • 2 cups mozzarella cheese

  • 1 cup cheddar cheese

  • Pizza sauce to serve on the side (optional)

Directions

  1. Cook the sausage until it is brown and done all the way through.

  2. While the sausage is cooking, grate the cheeses, cut the onion and cut the ham into bite sized pieces.

  3. Put silicon mat on pan, preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  4. Roll out pizza dough until it is thin.

  5. Place toppings on dough, leaving about an inch around edges. I did half with pepperoni, sausage and onions and the other half with ham and pineapple. Then I covered the whole thing evenly in cheese.

  6. Roll dough up, push dough together to make it stick then pinch the ends together.

  7. Make slices down the top of the dough.

  8. Put in oven and let cook for 30 minutes, check it, if it is not cooked all the way, let it cook longer.

  9. Take out of oven and let sit on cookie rake for at least 10 minutes.

  10. Enjoy!

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page