top of page

Bacon Cream Cheese Dip

Dips should have their own place on the food pyramid. I am pretty sure I could live off dips. This is one of my favorite dips, Bacon Cream Cheese. I love it. I has a lot of crunchy bacon and cheese, which are two of my favorites things! This dip can be eaten hot or cold, which is nice when you are serving it for a party because people can eat it whenever they want. I personally love it both ways. You can add hot sauce to the dip if you want a little kick, but if you do not, it still has plenty of flavor!

To get my bacon extra crunchy I put it in the oven. The oven seems to cook it more evenly so all of the bacon gets crunchy. I cover a pan with foil and lay the bacon on it. I preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Then I cook the bacon for 15 - 20 minutes or until it is as crisp as I would like it. I like very crunchy bacon so mine cooks for longer than most peoples. Just keep an eye on it so you do not overcook it. After you take it out of the oven, lay it on some paper towels so they can absorb the grease from the bacon. Let it sit for a few minutes to cool before you add it to the dip, you do not want to melt the cheese.

This dip stays good for days so I always try to make extra, I love to have some for leftovers. You can use the leftovers for dip or get creative, make a grilled dip sandwich! Also, when eating as a dip, it is good with chips but also with vegetables. You just really cannot go wrong with this dip!

First I put room temperature cream cheese and sour cream in a bowl and combine them. If your cream cheese is not room temperature, it will still work, it will just be a little harder to stir. Next I add the bacon, cheese, green onions and hot sauce if you are using hot sauce.

Next you simply stir the mixture together. I top it with a little extra bacon, cheese and green onions. I like to let it sit in the refrigerator for at least a couple of hours, if possible, but we have also eaten it right away. It is delicious either way!

Bacon Cream Cheese Dip

Ingredients

  • 16 oz cream cheese, regular, light or fat free

  • 3 cups sour cream, regular, light or fat free

  • 2 cups cheddar cheese, divided

  • 1/4 cup green onions divided

  • 1 lb bacon, divided

  • hot sauce (optional)

Directions

  1. Mix room temperature cream cheese and sour cream together

  2. Add bacon, cheese, green onions and hot sauce (reserve a small amount of each), mix well

  3. Add the rest of the bacon, cheese and green onions to the top of the dip

  4. Refridgerate. Serve hot or cold.

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page