top of page

Spicy Three Cheese Enchiladas

I love enchiladas of all kinds, I like red sauce, white sauce and green sauce. I love cheese, chicken and beef enchiladas. They are all so different, yet so delicious. And they are easy. Easy is a big thing for me some days. Sometimes you want a really good meal but you just do not have time to spend hours in the kitchen. This recipe is perfect for that. You do not even need to have meat for this one, but it is filling and everyone loves them.

You can really add anything you would like to these enchiladas, I have added meats, bean, olives, carrots, onions, garlic, the list goes on! Anything that you can get your family to eat will go perfect. A lot of time if I am adding meat, I use some leftover meat that I already have. We almost always have leftover meat in the fridge. Right now we have a whole bunch of pork, I will probably shred some of it up and make some pork and cheese enchiladas for dinner tonight. If you decide to add other things to the enchiladas, you can reduce the amount of cheese so that you do not over fill them.

Just as the insides of the enchiladas have endless possibilities, so do the sides, you can serve with sour cream, salsa, guacamole, chips, rice, really anything goes!

You can adjust the spiciness based on what your family will eat. I do not use the hot enchilada sauce, I use mild then add cayenne pepper so I can control the spiciness. Plus I love cayenne pepper!

You can make this recipe ahead of time and put them in the refrigerator until you are ready to cook them, you can even freeze them if you want to make a big batch and have some available for later.

The cheesiness in this picture says it all. You can stick with just cheese, or you can add meats, beans or vegetables. I always make them different, but when I am making red sauce enchiladas, this is the base recipe I use.

Enchiladas are a great, easy way to feed a lot or a few. It is easy to adjust the recipe, you can double it or halve it or even triple it! You can also change the cheese, sometimes I use pepper jack for a little more kick.

Spicy Three Cheese Enchiladas

Ingredients

  • 8 flour tortillas, soft taco size

  • 28 oz mild enchilada sauce

  • 1 cup cheddar cheese

  • 2 cups monterey jack cheese

  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese

  • 1 cup sour cream

  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees

  2. Mix all the cheeses together, reserve 1/2 cup

  3. Mix sour cream with cheese

  4. Mix enchilada sauce and cayenne pepper

  5. Take 1 tortilla, fill with cheese and enchilada sauce

  6. Wrap tortilla, put in pan seam side down

  7. Fill the rest of the enchiladas with cheese and sauce

  8. Top enchiladas with the remaining cheese and sauce

  9. Put in oven for 30 minutes, or until cheese is bubbling

  10. Let sit for 10 - 15 minutes before serving, then serve with your favorite sides and dipping sauces

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page