top of page

Garden Green Beans

Garden green beans are my favorite green beans. They are so fresh and tender! They are also my favorite vegetable that I grow in my garden. I love them! I like to cook them low and slow, I like my green beans cooked all the way, I do not want any crunchiness! I cook them with onions, garlic, chicken broth, pepper, seasoning salt and a little cayenne pepper for a little extra flavor. This recipe also works with store bought and even frozen green beans. You can cook them on a higher heat if you need to have them done sooner, I have done this before and they are still delicious!

I remember when I was a kid I used to help with the green beans at my family's beach house. They usually had a lot to do so they made the kids help. We would all sit in a circle and snap the ends off the beans. I think it is fun to eat something that you helped make, especially when you are a kid and do not get to cook much! My kids help me snap the ends also, but they also helped me weed the garden, plant the seeds, water and then pick them! They get to see the whole process, which is even more fun!

The only part of making these green beans that requires work from me is the picking and snapping the ends, the rest is just cooking time. I love that I can walk outside and pick my own vegetables. I can pick a lot or a little, it just depends on what I need that day. This is my first pot of beans this year, I have a lot left in my garden and they usually keep growing for several months. I would jar some but I usually eat them all so I can't, that is how good they are. We eat them pretty much everyday, I just change them so they are the same everyday. I also plant enough to give bags away, everyone loves free green beans!

The other thing I love about cooking green beans is, I can add other vegetables. My favorite vegetable to add is carrots (besides onions and garlic). I grow carrots in my garden also, which makes it very easy to pick both and throw them in a pot to cook all day, or at least a couple of hours.

You can add any seasoning you like, for seasoning salt I use Johnny's seasoning salt. Sometimes I use garlic powder or garlic salt if I do not have minced garlic. Sometimes I also use white pepper instead of black pepper, but I use less, it is spicier!

Garden Green Beans

Ingredients

  • Green beans, fresh or frozen

  • Carrots (optional)

  • 5 cups chicken broth (I use water and 2 tspBetter than Broth)

  • Medium onion, chopped

  • 2 TBSP Minced garlic

  • 1 TBSP seasoning salt

  • 1 TBSP black pepper

  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions

  1. Snap the ends off of the green beans, rinse beans

  2. Peel carrots and slice

  3. Put all the ingredients into a pot

  4. Cook on low 4 - 6 hours or increase the heat and decrease the cooking time, they are done when tender

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page