top of page

Best Spicy Taco Seasoning

I love tacos so I love that Taco Tuesday gives me an excuse to eat tacos every week. I like crunchy tacos, soft tacos, taco salads, burritos, nachos, quesadillas...pretty much anything with taco meat! I know those are not all tacos, but sometimes we have leftover taco meat so we have leftover Wednesday and everybody has what they want.

This spicing taco seasoning can be used on ground hamburger, ground turkey/chicken, shredded chicken, shredded pork, shredded beef, pretty much any meat that you want to use. Sometimes I use it with chicken breast but I do not shred it, I just cut it into chunks either before cooking or after. You can make it less spicy by using less, or even no red pepper flakes, or kick it up a little more and add more. I will add more if my kids are not eating it. You can also change any of the other ingredients. It took me a while to figure out the spices just right for my family but now I have it down!

All you have to do is chop some onion, start to cook it, then add your meat, this recipe is for one pound of meat, I usually double it and make two pounds so we have leftovers. After the meat is fully cooked, add the seasoning and some water. I let it cook for at least 30 minutes if possible, the flavors are wonderful when they can simmer for a little while.

Next, make whatever kind of taco, nacho, quesadilla or other food you would like. If you have enough leftovers, this makes a great taco soup. It adds the best flavor!

I like my tacos fairly simple, just a shell, some meat, cheese, sour cream and lettuce. Sometimes I will add olives or salsa or taco sauce! Get as creative as you want! The seasoning goes well with everything!

Spicy Taco Seasoning

Ingredients

  • 1 lb meat (any ground/shredded meat)

  • 1/2 onion, chopped

  • 1 TBSP chili powder

  • 1 TBSP garlic powder or minced garlic

  • 1/2 TBSP cumin

  • 1/2 TBSP red pepper flakes

  • 1/2 TBSP black pepper

  • 1/2 cup water

Directions

  1. Turn stove to medium heat

  2. Put onions in pan, cook for a few minutes, add meat

  3. When meat is done cooking, drain any fat

  4. Add the rest of the ingredients, stir well to combine

  5. Turn heat to low and let simmer, I usually simmer it for a couple of hours, but you can serve after 15 minutes or when water is gone

  6. If you let simmer longer, you may need to add more water

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page