top of page

Crockpot Garlic Chicken and Vegetables

This is one of my favorite meals ever. Not only does it taste delicious, but it is healthy and easy. There is a lot of garlic in this recipe, it took me a couple of tries to come up with the right amount. I think it is perfect, you can taste the garlic but it is not overpowering. I picked the green beans and onions from my garden so they were extra fresh! This meal is something I use when I will not have a lot of time at dinner time or when I just want something easy. You do not even have to thaw out the chicken breast for this recipe, that is how easy it is. The only prep for it is to clean and cut the vegetables, then you just layer everything in your crockpot or slow cooker and let it do it's thing!

First I sliced onions and layer those on the bottom of the crockpot. Next I clean and cut the ends off green beans, then layer those. Carrots are next, I peel and cut them, leaving them in large chunks. When I get those in the crockpot I made a garlicky chicken broth and pour it over the vegetables. I use about 1.5 cups of water, 1.5 teaspoon of Better than Bullion chicken flavor (or you can just use chicken broth instead), 1 tablespoon minced garlic, 1/2 tablespoon Johnny's seasoning salt, and 1/2 tablespoon black pepper. I use hot water so that the Better than Broth dissolves before I pour it over the vegetables. Next, I trim the chicken breast so there is no fat. I used skinless, boneless chicken breast this time but I also use bone in breast with the skin, then you can skip using the water and Better than Bullion. I clean the potatoes, I only cut the really big ones in half, the others I left whole, I do not want them to cook too fast. Then I season the chicken breast with garlic powder, seasoning salt and black pepper. I put the chicken breast on top of the carrots, I used 3 chicken breasts and they fit perfect. Next I season the potatoes with garlic powder and seasoning salt. Before I put the lid on I add a little more black pepper over everything.

One of the great things about this recipe is you can change whatever you do not like or have on hand. You do not have to use chicken breast, you can use legs or thighs. You can omit any of the vegetables or you could add in others that cook well in the crockpot for a lengthy period of time. You can also change the seasonings. Sometimes I want a little heat in mine so I add cayenne pepper or red pepper flakes. You can also adjust the servings, I wanted three servings this time so I used three chicken breasts and enough vegetables. You could easily add a few more chicken breasts and quite a bit more vegetables. We wanted leftovers, the chicken and vegetables make a great left over lunch the next day! We also made gravy out of the juices, it turns out fantastic with all the wonderful seasonings!

Crockpot Garlic Chicken and Vegetables

Ingredients (For 3 servings)

  • 3 chicken breasts

  • 1 medium onion

  • 1 lb green beans

  • 5 carrots

  • 5 potatoes

  • 1 TBSP minced garlic

  • 1.5 cup water

  • 1.5 tsp Better than Bullion chicken flavor

  • 1 TBSP seasoning salt, divided

  • 2 TBSP black pepper, divided

  • 1 TBSP garlic powder, divided

Directions

  1. I used a 6 quart crockpot, you can use smaller or larger, depending on how much you are making

  2. Slice the onion and placed it in the bottom of the crockpot

  3. Clean and cut the ends off the green beans, place on top of onions

  4. Peel and cut carrots into large chunks, place on top of green beans

  5. Combine water, better than bullion (or chicken broth), minced garlic, 1/2 TBSP seasoning salt and 1/2 TBSP black pepper, pour over vegetables

  6. Trim chicken, season with seasoning salt, garlic powder and black pepper, place over carrots

  7. Clean and season potatoes and place over chicken

  8. Cook on low for 6 hours, vegetables should all be tender and chicken cooked through

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page