top of page

Cheesy Hashbrown Breakfast Skillet

I love cheese and I love hashbrowns so this is my perfect breakfast meal. Plus, it is all cooked in one pan so less dishes to wash! This is simple to make and you can easily substitute any kind of cheese and any kind of meat. You can also add more of everything to make it for the whole family. This recipe is using cheddar cheese, ham, 2 egg whites, 1 whole egg, hashbrowns and seasoning. I also like to add onion to my egg mixture sometimes, or mushrooms.

This recipe uses frozen hashbrowns, but you can also use fresh potatoes, just cook them for a few minutes then grate them. You can also use cubed potatoes instead of shredded. I have tried it all ways and I always love the way it comes out. You can also add some red pepper flakes or hot sauce if you want a little spice.

If I am cooking it for my whole family, I will use more eggs, usually around 10, and I will use 3 or 4 cups of hashbrowns. I also use 1 - 2 cups of ham. It is a recipe that is really easy to adapt to a larger group or to different flavors.

First I put some coconut oil in a pan, I let it heat for about a minute then I add the hashbrowns. I cook the hashbrowns most of the way through before I add anything else, the eggs do not take very long to cook. After the hashbrowns have cooked for about 8 minutes, I add the eggs and ham. I stir it a few times. When it is done, I add cheese on top and let melt for a few minutes.

The cheesy deliciousness is now ready to eat! I think that ham and cheddar is my favorite combo for this meal, but I also like spicy sausage, mozzarella cheese, parmesan cheese, ground beef and ground turkey. I also love to put some sour cream on plate, it adds a wonderful creaminess!

Cheesy Hashbrown Breakfast Skillet

Ingredients

  • 1 whole egg

  • 2 egg whites

  • 1/4 cup chopped ham

  • 1/4 cheddar cheese

  • 1 tsp coconut oil

  • Seasoning salt

  • Garlic powder

  • 1 TBSP milk

  • 1 cup shredded hashbrowns, frozen or fresh

Directions

  1. Heat pan to medium, add coconut oil, heat for 1 minute, or until liquid

  2. Add hashbrowns to pan, cook about 8 minutes, or until tender

  3. Put eggs, milk, seasoning salt and garlic powder in bowl, mix together

  4. Add eggs and ham to hashbrowns

  5. Cook about 4 minutes, or until eggs are firm

  6. Add cheese, let melt

  7. Enjoy!

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page