top of page

Crunchy Spicy Oven Fries

Oven fries are so good and they go with most meals. They are a wonderful side and I love that I can make them as crunchy as I want. I hate going out to eat and getting fries that are not crunchy. To me, if they are not crunchy, they are not done. I like to cut my fries different lengths so I get some tiny, extremely crunchy ones. They are my favorite! Everyone in my family loves these fries, we usually have to make 2 pans and they all disappear, fast.

You can use any kind of potato you want, I prefer red or yellow skinned potatoes because then I can leave the skin on. The skins gets extra crunchy! You do want to use some oil for this recipe, but be careful to not use too much, you do not want the french fries getting soggy from oil. I usually start with a lower amount and add more if I need to.

You want to space your fries apart so they are getting crunchy at the same time they are cooking, if they are to close together, they will still cook but they will not be as crunchy, if they are crunchy at all.

I cut up my potatoes then put them in a bowl and add the oil and seasonings then shake them really good. This way I know they are all getting oil and seasoning, it is hard to evenly season them once they are on the pan.

Crunchy Spicy Oven Fries

Ingredients

  • 4 lbs potatoes, red or yellow skinned

  • 2 TBSP coconut or canola oil

  • 1 TBSP seasoning salt, I use Johnnys

  • 1 TBSP garlic powder

  • 1 TBSP onion powder

  • 1/2 TBSP black pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees

  2. Clean potatoes and cut off any bad parts.

  3. Slice potatoes into quarters then slice each quarter into slices. Slices do not have to be the same size, varying thickness is fine

  4. Add oil and seasoning to bowl, then add potatoes. Shake bowl until seasoning and oil evenly covers potatoes

  5. Pour onto large pan or 2 separate pans if needed

  6. Cook for about 35 minutes, check to make sure they are cooked through and browned, if not, continue to cook and check until done

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page