top of page

Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting

I came about this recipe by accident. I was cutting a regular cream cheese recipe in half, but I forgot when I got to the vanilla and put the whole amount it. It was a delicious mistake. I love vanilla and always put extra in all my recipes so it ended up with over double the amount of vanilla that it should have had. This is the way I always make it now. The extra vanilla gives it a wonderful flavor, it goes perfect on any baked good. My favorite is to top brownies with it. Because I also love brownies. The two go together perfectly.

Make sure you take the cream cheese and butter out ahead of time so they get soft. They are much easier to use then. It is easy to make a double batch or cut this one in half, just watch your measurements! Extra vanilla in this one might be too much.

I put a large amount in the middle of the brownies and slowly push it out towards the sides. Then I go over it again with a knife so it is as even as I can get it. Everyone wants the same amount of frosting!

It is easy to tint this frosting, you can add a couple drops of food coloring to change it from white if you want color. We have made a lot of colors, my kids get to take turns picking colors when we bake.

This recipe is half of what the original was. If you are frosting a big cake, double it, this one is perfect for a pan of brownies. I like a medium layer of frosting, I do not want it to overpower the brownies but I also want to be able to taste it! You can also make the whole recipe and save the other half for a few days if you plan to make another dessert with cream cheese frosting.

Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened

  • 4 ounces cream cheese, softened

  • 2 cups confectioners sugar

  • 1 TBSP vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Put cream cheese and butter in the mixer and beat until they are well combined

  2. Add sugar a little at a time, beat until well combined once all is added

  3. Add vanilla, mix well

  4. Use to top your favorite desserts or to dip fruit in

  5. Keep refrigerated when not using. Take out of refrigerator a few minutes before serving to soften

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page