top of page

Chili Cheese Dip

We have not had very many really warm days this summer, today is suppose to be in the high 90's so we are going to take advantage of it. My kids and I are going to have some friends over to play in our pool. I made chili cheese dip for lunch because it is delicious and easy. Also because I can make it in the morning and put it in the crockpot until we are ready to eat lunch. This way, it stays warm and not everyone has to eat at the same time. If you have time, you can put all the ingredients in the crockpot to cook instead of using a pan. This takes a little longer but is still delicious. Just do not forget to stir it every once in a while so the ingredients mix together.

I love dips. And I love cheese, so this one is perfect for me. As I have mentioned before, me and some of my friends get together to have dip and dessert nights, and it is one of our favorite nights ever! We all get to try new dips and desserts, sometimes things that we would not even think of. I have come across several new favorites this way. Chili cheese dip is a dip I have been eating, and making, since I was a kid myself. It is so so so good! Also, you can make a huge batch or make it for a smaller group. It is really easy to alter the recipe. I use either homemade chili or canned, today I am using canned since I do not have any homemade ready. I like to use thick chili and hot chili, but you can use whatever kind you like!

Besides chili, this recipe has cheddar cheese and cream cheese in it. I like to use sharp cheddar so that the taste of the cheddar really comes thru. You can use any chips you like, I use a sturdy tortilla chip, like Juanita's or Tostitos. Scoops are also good for this dip. I use Nalley brand chili when I am using canned chili, I love the way the thick and hot mix together, they are a little spicy but not too much. My kids do not eat spicy food but they are able to eat this dip.

If you keep the chili in the crockpot to stay warm, make sure you have it on low or keep warm, not hot. This dip is perfect by itself, but you can also serve it with sour cream. You can also top is with more grated cheese if you would like, but it is pretty cheesy, just the way I like it! It also makes great leftovers, just put the dip back in a pan or in the microwave and heat until warm all the way through.

Chili Cheese Dip

Ingredients

  • 2 regular size cans thick chili

  • 1 regular size can hot chili

  • 1 block cream cheese, regular or low fat

  • 3 cups sharp cheddar cheese, grated or cubed

Directions

  1. Put all ingredients in a pan over medium-low heat or in a crockpot, low heat, cook until heated through

  2. Keep warm

Save

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page