top of page

Garlic Cheese Bread

If I had to pick a favorite food, cheese would win. I love cheese, probably more than I should. But I cannot help it. It is so good. It is good cold, it is good hot. There are not many foods that I can say that about. It can make an okay dish a great dish. It is also great by itself. I love slice of cheese, string cheese, cheese curds, chunks of cheese, I love it all. There are a few cheeses that I do not eat, but for the most part I am open to at least trying new ones!

My kids love cheese too, this cheese bread is their first pick for pizza friday, or any meal really. They ask for it all the time and it is so easy that they can help make it!

I love cheese so much that this year my family vacation will include going to a cheese factory. I am so excited. I am going to get cheese samples and also eat lunch in their deli. I have already decided for lunch I am getting a grilled cheese sandwich with some fried cheese curds. And I will be bringing my ice chest so I can bring home some different cheeses and definitely some cheese curds. The cheese factory also sells ice cream, but I do not think I will be able to have any ice cream. I am pretty sure I will fill up on cheese curd samples and be happy. If any of you have been to the Tillamook cheese factory in Oregon, let me know if you have any helpful hints. I do not want to miss anything!

My next goal in life is to make cheese myself. I have watched how to do it on television, it looks fun, plus then I could eat it! I would learn to make mozzarella first, then move on to others. It is good to have goals in life, especially when they involve cheese.

We eat garlic cheese bread a lot. We eat it with bbq chicken, steak, hamburgers, pasta, salads. We even eat it with pizza. Why not add a little more cheese to your cheese? I love making it myself because I can put as much garlic and cheese on it that I want. That is important to me because I love garlic and cheese so I want a lot of both.

This is an easy recipe, and it is also easy to alter. Sometimes we add pepperoni for a pizza garlic cheese bread, or jalapenos for some spice. We usually use cheddar and mozzarella because they make the perfect cheese bread but I have also used montery jack, pepperjack, parmesan and gouda. They are all delicious. I get the loaves of french bread for $1 so this is a cheap and easy meal. Sometimes I even find the french bread marked down so it is even cheaper! I love getting a good deal!

This goes great with grilled chicken, crockpot chicken and veggies, pea salad, smoked brisket or any other meal!

This is a good recipe for a big crowd, you can easily cook a few loaves of bread so you have enough to feed everyone. You can also cook this on the barbeque if you would rather. Just make sure you put it on a higher rack so you do not burn it.

If you are making it ahead of time, to cook later, do not melt the butter first, just mix the garlic and cold butter together and put it on the bread. If you melt it and do not cook it right away, your bread could get soggy.

Garlic Cheese Bread

Ingredients

  • One loaf french bread

  • 4 TBSP butter

  • 4 cloves garlic, grated

  • 2 cups cheddar cheese

  • 2 cups mozzarella

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  2. Melt butter in pan, add garlic, cook for a few minutes

  3. Cut french bread in half length wise

  4. Use a brush or spoon to put butter/garlic on bread, you do not have to use all the butter

  5. Put 1 cup of each cheese on each half

  6. Add any other toppings

  7. Cook for 15 minutes or until cheese is bubbling and brown

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page