top of page

Thick Chicken Vegetable Soup

I eat soup year round, it does not matter if it is a 90 degree summer day, I will still be eating soup. We have not had many 90 degree days this summer in the Pacific Northwest, it has been in the 70's, with a few days the high being in the 60's! I can't say I am complaining though, it has been nice to be able to enjoy going outside without sweating when I walk out the door. We have been enjoying going to the lakes and rivers and also just going to walk outside. That is unusual for this time of year!

This soup is full of vegetables and I cook the noodles on the side so they can be added or left out. I like it both ways, it just depends on my mood I guess! I have been making chicken noodle soup for years, but I always wondered how restaurants get their broth so thick, I finally figured it out, without using flour or any thickener. I talk out part of the broth and vegetables and blend it in my Ninja then put it back in the pot of soup. The result is a slightly thickened broth that is delicious!

I start by putting the onions and carrots in the pot and let them cook for a few minutes, then I add the celery and garlic. After that cooks for a few more minutes, I add water and chicken flavored Better than Bullion. I heat the pot up so that mixes together well, then I add black pepper, the cut up chicken, green beans and frozen corn. I cook the whole pot for several hours, then I add the cut up potato chunks and cook it again for a couple of hours. When all the vegetables are cooked through, I scoop out about 2 - 3 cups of broth and vegetables (I pick the chicken out and put it back in the pot) and blend it. Then I return it to the pot. I cook noodles in another pot. I do not add them to the pot, the noodles get mushy if they sit in the broth, plus not everyone always wants noodles. This soup is delicious on it's own or with the noodles! You can also add some cayenne pepper or red pepper flakes to give it a little spice, I often do that.

It goes really well with a side of garlic cheese bread! It also goes good with rolls or crackers, anything you want to dip in it!

Thick Chicken Vegetable Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts

  • 5 carrots, cut and peeled

  • 1 medium onion, chopped

  • 2 TBSP grated garlic or garlic powder

  • 6 cups water

  • 2 TBSP Better than Bullion, chicken flavored

  • 4 stalks celery, chopped

  • 4 potatoes, cleaned and cut

  • 1/2 lb fresh green beans, cut into small pieces

  • 2 cups frozen corn

  • 1 lb noodles, I used mini penne (optional)

  • 1 TBSP black pepper

Directions

  1. Put onion and carrots in pot, cook and stir for 4 minutes

  2. Add celery and garlic, cook for 3 minutes

  3. Add water and Better than Bullion, mix together well

  4. Add chicken, pepper, corn and green beans let cook about 3 hours

  5. Add potatoes, let cook 2 more hours or until all vegetables are done

  6. Take 2 - 3 cups of broth and vegetables out of pot and blend (I do not blend the chicken, I pick it out and put it back in the pot)

  7. Put blended broth back in pot, stir

  8. Cook noodles separately, do not add to pot, put in individual bowls

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page