top of page

Crockpot Hamburger and Vegetables

I love meals that I can make ahead of time, so naturally, I love my Crockpot and other slow cookers. Yes, I said others, I have a few Crockpot brand slow cookers and I have a few other brands of slow cookers. Most of them are oval, but different sizes, but I also have the casserole Crockpot. I have uses for all of them. I have been thinking about buying a smaller one for when we make dips, but we usually end up making lot of dip so I probably would not use it. Iove big Crockpots and slow cookers. I want to be able to put a lot of food in it. I often make a whole chicken with vegetables, which means a small Crockpot or slow cooker would not work.

One of my slow cookers has a timer, I love it! That is the one I use if I do not know if I will be home before my food gets done. After it cooks on low for the amount of time I set it to, it switches to warm. It is so convenient! It also has a bracket on the back of it to hold the lid, I did not know if I would really use it much, but I do, and I love that too. I do not have to find somewhere to put the lid when I want to stir or add more things, it is great!

If you do not have a Crockpot or slow cooker, you can cook this on the stove top but you would probably want to add more liquid. Cook it on low and let it cook until the vegetables are tender.

You can change any of the vegetables in this recipe for other ones, just make sure they can stay in the Crockpot or slow cooker for 7 - 8 hours or do not add them until later. I have made this with ground turkey also and it is delicious. You could top it with cheese at the end if you want. I serve mine with sour cream, I love sour cream with potatoes.

Crockpot hamburger and vegetables is a pretty quick and easy meal to make. I start by cooking some onion, then I add the hamburger to that. While the onion and hamburger cook, I get the vegetables ready. I usually have some carrots cut and peeled in my refrigerator, but if I do not, I cut and peel some, then I clean and cut the potatoes. By the time the hamburger is done cooking, I have all the vegetables in the Crockpot. I drain the fat from the hamburger and put the hamburger and onions in the Crockpot. I used 4% hamburger so there was not very much fat. Then I add a cup of beef broth mixed with black pepper, granulated garlic and seasoning salt to the Crockpot. Next, I stir everything, then I just let it cook.

This meal is great alone, or you can serve it with french bread, rolls or cheesy garlic bread. It also makes great leftovers. You can microwave them or put them in a pan with a little coconut oil for a few minutes. You could also make some more broth and turn it into soup. Soup is good for any meal.

Crockpot Hamburger and Vegetables

Ingredients

  • 1 lb lean hamburger or ground turkey/chicken

  • 1/2 onion, chopped into small pieces

  • 6 carrots, peeled and cut

  • 5 potatoes, cleaned and quartered

  • 1 lb fresh green beans, rinsed and ends cut

  • 2 cups frozen corn

  • 1 TBS granulated garlic powder

  • 1/2 TBS black pepper

  • 2 tsp seasoning salt

  • 1 cup beef broth

Directions

  1. Cook onion for 2 minutes, add hamburger, stir every few minutes

  2. While onion and hamburger cook, cut, clean and chop all vegetables, put in the Crockpot

  3. Turn crockpot on low

  4. Combine beef broth, garlic, black pepper and seasoning salt, set aside

  5. When hamburger is done, drain fat and add hamburger and onion to Crockpot

  6. Pour beef broth mixture over everything in Crockpot, stir

  7. Cook 7 - 8 hours, stirring occasionally

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page