top of page

Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownies

I love chocolate chip cookies and I love brownies. So when my friends and I had dip and dessert night recently, I could not decide which one I wanted, so I made both. This is my favorite way to have chocolate chip cookies and brownies. They go together perfectly! They also make a great sundae, just put a scoop of ice cream and some whipped cream on top.

Dip and dessert night is always something different, it can be very difficult to choose just one or two desserts. With this dessert, it is like having two in one. Another plus is that they bake together perfectly. I take them out of the oven when they are still a bit on the gooey side, I love gooey cookies and brownies, especially if you want to put ice cream on them.

These can be made a day ahead of time, so you do not have to be in the kitchen while you have people over. I love make ahead recipes! They are especially convenient for events like dip and dessert parties because there is more than one dish to make. At my last dip and dessert party, I made all dips and desserts that could be made the day before. It made the day of the party so much more relaxing and I had time to go shopping, which is always important!

You can use the recipes below for brownies and cookies, or you can use boxed, I have done both and I love them both ways. The benefit of making them yourself is you can make them just the way you like them. I like fudgy brownies, while some people like cakey brownies. If I buy boxed I usually get the milk chocolate ones and follow the directions for fudgy brownies, but I usually make my own since I have a large amount of cocoa powder at all times. I always think I am running low but when I get home I find more. I currently have 4 containers of cocoa powder, it is probably time to make more brownies!

I also add some of my homemade chocolate syrup to the brownies to make them extra fudgy, the recipe for it is here. You can also use the chocolate syrup on top of a sundae or to make chocolate milk. It is great because you know what the ingredients are and you get to choose how much sugar to use.

I only use half a recipe for the chocolate chip coolies and it is plenty. The recipe below is a half recipe. The whole recipe would be too much for one pan of brownies, I like to have an even amount of both. You could make a whole recipe and freeze the other half or bake them into cookies. There can never be to many chocolate chip cookies, especially if you have friends over, you need extra so you can share!

I make the brownie batter first, then I put spoonfuls of cookie dough on top of the brownies. I do big and small spoonfuls so that each bite is different. I have also done this same recipe but used peanut butter cookies instead of chocolate chip cookies, that is delicious also! I have also put peanut butter in my brownies, I love peanut butter. The picture below shows the inside of the chocolate chip cookie brownies, but each bite is different, sometimes you get more brownie, sometimes more cookie, sometimes both evenly! This dessert is definitely in my top 5, probably more like my top 2, the other being Reese's Brownies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownies

Ingredients

Brownies

  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

  • 2 cups white sugar

  • 1 cup melted butter

  • 3 egg

  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  • 2 TBSP chocolate syrup (homemade or store bought)

Chocolate chip cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened

  • 6 TBSP white sugar

  • 6 TBSP brown sugar

  • 1 tsp. vanilla

  • 1 egg

  • 1 cup flour

  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda

  • 1/4 tsp. salt

  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions

Brownies

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease or use cooking spray on 9 x 13 inch pan.

  2. Combine cocoa powder, baking soda, sugar, butter, eggs, flour, vanilla and chocolate syrup.

  3. Place batter in pan, set aside

Cookies

  1. Combine butter, sugar, brown sugar and vanilla

  2. Add eggs and beat well

  3. Stir together flour, baking soda and salt in separate bowl and then add to butter mixture

  4. Stir in chocolate chips

  5. Place spoonfuls of dough on top of brownies

  6. Bake for about 30 - 35 minutes, insert toothpick, it will come out almost clean

  7. Let sit for at least 15 minutes

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page