top of page

Chocolate Syrup

My kids love chocolate syrup, so I decided to make it for them instead of buying the bottled kind. I know it still is not healthy, but at least I know what ingredients are going into it. They get it every now and then as a special treat on ice cream or to make chocolate milk. It is a really simple recipe and I always have all the ingredients. I make a batch of it and put it in a pour able container to keep in the refrigerator. I got a container from the store that has a flip top so it is easy to open and pour. You can use any container, as long as it has a way to pour.

I also make it when I make brownies and other desserts, I love the flavor of it in brownies. I like fudgy brownies and this chocolate syrup makes them extra fudgy, just the way I like them!

This is a very simple recipe, it is just cocoa powder, water, sugar, vanilla and salt. I use less sugar than the original recipe and I do not usually use salt, my kids do not ever know. I barely ever use salt in recipes, unless I know it will change the recipe enough that people will not like it. That is not usually the case though.

To make the chocolate syrup, combine 3/4 cup cocoa powder, 1 1/4 cup water, 1 - 1 1/2 cups sugar, 2 tablespoons vanilla and a dash of salt, if you desire salt. Boil all of the ingredients, except the vanilla for one to two minutes, then add vanilla and let it cool. Then just put it in the container you would like to use and refrigerate it. It stays good for quite a while, I have never had any go bad. I do not make this often, but when I do, the kids love it and want it on everything.

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page