top of page

Three Cheese Hamburger Pie

I was a picky eater as a child, I did not like most foods, or at least I thought I did not. But even though I was a picky eater, three cheese hamburger pie has always been one of my favorites. I make it almost the same today as my mom did when I was a child, just a little healthier. The good thing is, my kids love it too! They can be hard to please, just like I was at their age, but this recipe is one that everyone loves.

This is a recipe that can be made ahead of time and put in the fridge until it is dinner time, then all you have to do it bake it. Those are my favorite meals! I love being able to get everything done for dinner in the morning so in the evening I have more time to spend with my kids. My oldest goes to school so after school is our time to talk and play games, and of course, do homework if she has it. The other great thing about this meal is it is very versatile, you can use any vegetables you like and any sauce. You can also switch the meat. I will give you some ideas :

Vegetables - corn and green beans, carrots, peas and corn, cauliflower and broccoli, mushrooms and green beans, zucchini, carrots and mushrooms, asparagus, carrots and onions

Sauce - tomato soup, white pepper gravy, brown gravy, alfredo sauce, beef broth

Meat - ground hamburger, ground turkey, ground chicken, steak, chicken

My favorite combo is the one we had when I was growing up, corn and green beans, tomato sauce and ground hamburger. But I also really like cauliflower and broccoli and beef broth. The possibilities are endless!

You can also change the cheeses you use, my favorites are sharp cheddar, medium cheddar and mozzarella. I also love parmesan, provolone, colby jack and havarti. It really just depends on what you like. Personalize it and make it your own!

I changed the way the potatoes were made in this recipe, my mom used to use butter, I sub laughing cow cheese. I also use fat free milk, nobody knows the difference in my family. I figure I can save some calories so I can use extra cheese. The cheese is my favorite part! You can make them however you like, there are a lot of different ways to make mashed potatoes healthier if you want or you can even use mashed cauliflower, I have done that also and it is delicious. But I love cauliflower and I eat it every way I can!

This recipe goes great with roasted vegetables, parmesan mushrooms and cheesy bread!

Three Cheese Hamburger Pie

Ingredients

  • 8 red potatoes

  • 1 Swiss garlic and herb laughing cow cheese wedge

  • 1/4 cup fat free milk

  • 1/2 tsp salt

  • 2 cloves garlic, grated

  • 1/2 onion

  • 1 lb lean ground hamburger (I used 4% fat)

  • 1 can 10.75 oz tomato soup

  • 1 cup frozen corn

  • 1 cup green beans

  • 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese

  • 1/2 cup medium cheddar cheese

  • 1/2 mozzarella cheese

Directions

  1. Clean potatoes, chop and put in pan with water, cook over medium high heat until tender, about 20 minutes

  2. Put onion in separate pan, cook for 3 minutes, add grated garlic and hamburger, cook for 15 minutes or until hamburger is done, drain fat

  3. Add tomato soup, corn and green beans to hamburger mixture, combine

  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  5. When potatoes are done, add laughing cow cheese, milk and salt, use potato masher to combine and mash the potatoes. They do not have to be completely smooth, I usually leave some chunks for texture

  6. Put hamburger mixture in casserole dish, top with mashed potatoes then top with cheese, bake in over for about 25 minutes or until cheese is browning. Let sit for at least 15 minutes before serving

Save

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page