top of page

Crispy Chicken Taco Meat

I love my crock pot and slow cookers. They are my favorite thing to use when making dinner. It is so easy to throw food in in the morning then have a nice hot dinner at dinnertime. This meal starts by cooking chicken in the crockpot. I put the chicken breasts in the crockpot whole, with the skin and bone and some seasonings. If you like dark meat, use that instead, or use both. I love putting a whole chicken in the crockpot, it is great for several meals.

This meal I made from leftover chicken, I had cooked chicken the day before and had leftovers but I wanted to do something different so I decided to make some taco seasoning.

If you do not have leftover chicken, cook your chicken however you would like, then let it cool before you shred it.

After I made taco seasoning, I shredded up my leftover chicken, I did not shred it to small, I want to have chunks, not just small pieces. Then I tossed the chicken and seasoning together and kept tossing until the chicken was coated evenly.

Next, I turned a pan onto medium-high heat and added coconut oil, you can use any oil you like. I waited for the oil to heat up then I added the chicken to the pan. Since the chicken is already cooked, I did not have to heat it long, i just stirred it occasionally until I saw it was starting to brown then I took it out of the pan. It is delicious in tacos, nachos, salads pr anything else you use taco meat for. I made a salad with mine and I loved the little bit of crunchiness from the chicken!

This recipe works well with pork and turkey also. I am going to try it with leftover roast also. I love shredded beef tacos so I am hoping it turns out good! If it does, I will update the post.

Crispy Chicken Taco Meat

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Shred chicken into large chunks

  2. Mix chicken with taco seasoning

  3. Heat oil in pan over medium-high heat, when warmed up, put chicken in

  4. Let cook for about 4 - 5 minutes, stirring occasionally

  5. Take out of pan and make tacos, salads, nachos, anything you would like

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page