top of page

Cheesy Bacon Chicken Pasta Bake

When I made this for the first time, I was a little hesitant, I was not sure I would like the bacon. I like my bacon very crunchy and I was worried it might go soft when I cooked it. I was very happy to find out that it did not! I only put it on top just to be safe, but you could put some in the casserole if you do not mind it possibly not being crunchy. I will try it one day and see what happens. I know everyone likes their bacon a certain way so it will just depend on what you like.

The trick to keeping the bacon crunchy is, make sure you cook it crunchy to begin with, then do not put it on the pasta bake until it is almost done. I cooked my bacon in the oven, drained it and let it cool. I only added it to the dish for the last 5 minutes of baking time, just long enough to get warm but not so long that it would sit on the cheese and get soft. It turned out perfect. Everyone loved this dish, even my husband, he likes his bacon less crunchy usually, but he thought it was great on this.

This is a good recipe to make earlier in the day and have it ready to put in the oven at dinner time. I put everything together, except the bacon, and put it in the refrigerator until a little before dinner. I love make ahead dinners. I always have more energy earlier in the day so I cook dinner early whenever possible.

This is also a good recipe for leftovers, it tastes great the next day for lunch. I usually try to make enough dinner to have leftovers for lunch the next day. It makes lunch time easy and fast!

This dinner can be prepared pretty fast if you do everything at the same time. I start my water for the noodles, start my pan for the chicken, turn the oven on for the bacon then I start prepping the food. I season and cut the chicken, then put it in the pan, then I put the noodles in the pot when the water boils. When the oven is hot enough I put the bacon it. While I wait for those things to cook I grate the cheese for the sauce. I wait to start the sauce until the rest is done since I constantly stir it so it does not burn. Then I combine everything, except the bacon, put it in a pan and put it in the fridge until dinner. At dinner time, I take it out a little early so it can come to room temperature then I bake it. It is very easy and delicious!

I like my pasta dishes a little spicy so I use cayenne pepper. I do not use too much, my kids can still eat the dishes, but I use enough so there is a little kick to them. It adds a wonderful flavor. If you do not like spice, simply omit it. You can add some black pepper instead if you like, I usually use both.

This dish goes great with a number of sides, such as roasted vegetables, parmesan mushrooms, cheesy garlic bread, garden green beans or any other vegetable you like.

 

Cheesy Bacon Chicken

Pasta Bake

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts

  • 1/2 box mini penne noodles

  • 4 slices bacon

  • 1 1/2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, grated

  • 1 1/2 cups medium cheddar cheese, grated

  • 2 tsp black pepper

  • 1/2 tsp seasoning salt

  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, more or less to taste

  • 2 TBSP butter

  • 2 TBSP flour

  • 2 cups milk

  • 2 tsp garlic powder

Directions

  1. Start a pot of water on high, wait for it to boil

  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees

  3. Season chicken breasts with 1 tsp black pepper and seasoning salt, cut into bite sized pieces. Put oil in pan, let heat, then add chicken breasts

  4. Line a pan with foil, place bacon on it, put in oven for 15 - 20 minutes, then place on paper towels to drain. Turn oven down to 350 degrees

  5. Add noodles to water, cook for 10 minutes or until almost done, drain

  6. Let chicken breast cook about 4 minutes, turn, cook 3 minutes, take out when no longer pink

  7. Put butter in pan, melt, add flour, cook for one minute, add milk, stir. When thickened (about 3 minutes), add cheese, cayenne pepper, 1 tsp black pepper and garlic powder.

  8. Add noodles to cheese sauce, stir to combine. Add chicken, stir. Place in oven safe pan, top with additional cheese if desired. Cook for 15 minutes, add bacon and cook 5 more minutes

  9. Let cool for at least 10 minutes

 

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page