top of page

Chicken Vegetable Enchilada Soup

This is another crockpot chicken recipe, I love using leftover chicken for different meals. This turns my original crockpot chicken into a totally different meal and I love it! Using leftovers makes this a very quick meal to make. You can cook it on the stove or in the crockpot, I usually put it in the crockpot because I love my crockpot! This meal is very filling and delicious and healthy!

I love making soups that taste like other foods I love to eat. Enchiladas are delicious and this soup keeps the delicious factor but in a different form. I make mine a little spicy, but you can make it mild or even extra spicy, depending on what you like. I used chicken breast for this recipe because that is what I had left over, but it is great with dark meat too. If I cook a whole chicken I cut up all the leftovers and add all the different kinds of meat to the soup.

For this one I used onions, garlic, carrots and corn, but I have also used green beans and even cauliflower in the past. Use whatever you have and like, it will turn out great. The only difference may be cooking time, I did not add the cauliflower until close to the end of cooking time, I did not want it mushy.

For spice, I used a medium enchilada sauce and also added cayenne pepper. Sometimes I use red pepper flakes instead. I do not make it so spicy that my kids cannot eat it, if someone wants it spicier, they can add more spice to their own bowl. My husband loves to put Tabasco sauce in his.

If you are like me and love soup, double this recipe so you have enough for leftovers. It also freezes very well so I usually try to save a cup or two and put it in the freezer for later. I serve mine with sour cream and sometimes a little cheese on top or tortilla chips. I make rice for my family and they love a scoop of it in the bottom of their bowl.

Chicken Vegetable Enchilada Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts or other chicken, cooked and shredded into large chunks

  • 5 carrots, peeled an sliced into bite sized pieces

  • 2 cups frozen corn

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

  • 1/2 onion, chopped

  • 1 TBPS minced garlic

  • 1 can 19 oz enchilada sauce

  • 4 cups chicken broth

  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

  • Optional toppings - sour cream, cheese, avocados, guacamole, chips, tortilla strips

Directions

  1. Add all ingredients to crockpot/slow cooker

  2. Turn on low

  3. Cook for 6 - 8 hours, until vegetables are tender

Save

Save

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page