top of page

Leftover Pot Roast and Vegetable Skillet

I love leftovers. They make lunch so much easier. I really love leftovers that I can change just a little bit to make it seem like a whole new meal. That is what this meal is. Last night we had crockpot pot roast, so today I decided to cut up some meat and vegetables and put them in a pan with a little oil and I had a totally different meal with very little effort. It was so delicious. And it did not take much time, I was pretty much just browning the potatoes and heating the rest so it was warm.

I started this meal the night before by pulling apart my meat and taking all the fat off, this saves time later and it is easier to do when the meat is still warm.

I bought a chuck roast a little larger than we needed for dinner so that my husband and I could both have leftovers the next day, not only is it easy but it also saves a lot of money. Plus, neither one of us love sandwiches enough to eat them everyday so making a little extra dinner makes it so we do not have to. Since it does not take any longer to cook larger pieces of meat like chuck roast, this works well for us.

The ingredients you use for the skillet will depend on what vegetables you cook with your pot roast, I usually use potatoes, carrots, green beans, mushrooms and onions. Sometimes I will also add celery or other vegetables. In my picture above, my carrots and mushrooms are hiding, next time I will include them!

This leftover meal is so good, you will want to make pot roast just so you can have leftovers! Sometimes that is my main motivation behind making many meals. I have so many leftover recipes that I love, plus the added bonuses of not having to cook lunch and possibly not dinner the next day!

 

Leftover Pot Roast and Vegetable Skillet

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup pot roast, cooked and chopped or shredded

  • 1/2 cup each, carrots, potatoes, green beans, mushrooms, cut into bite sized peices

  • 1 tsp olive oil

Directions

  1. Put oil in pan, let warm

  2. Add potatoes, cook for about 6 minutes or until browning, stirring occasionally

  3. Add the other vegetables, book for about 5 minutes or until everything is warmed all the way through

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page