top of page

Garlic Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Sometimes you just need a grilled cheese sandwich. They are so comforting, with all the cheese and the bread. They are pretty much the perfect meal. I love them. I remember when I was a kid, I loved having grilled cheese sandwiches for any meal, yes, even breakfast. I loved the mornings that I would get up and smell the cheese cooking, it was the best!

I love plain, regular grilled cheese sandwiches and I also loved grilled cheese with extras. My favorite extra is garlic salt. It adds such a delicious flavor to the sandwich, I rarely make them without it. I also like to add ham or other meat occasionally. Sometimes mushrooms or onions. The great thing about grilled cheese sandwiches is, you can make them be whatever you want. Sometimes you just need the plain good old grilled cheese from you childhood, and that is perfectly okay!

You can use any kind of cheese you like, my favorites are cheddar and mozzarella. I love the combination of the two and I love how the mozzarella makes it stringy. Cheese is my favorite! I have also used pepper jack, Colby jack, Monterrey, provolone, Havarti and white cheddar, they are all delicious!

I use either butter or coconut oil on the bread so that it can be extra crunchy, the crunch is one of my favorite parts, besides the oozy cheese of course! The garlic salt adds such a huge flavor that brings the sandwich to a whole a new level.

Another thing you can change to make it different, is the bread. I love french bread but I also love sourdough and whole wheat. They all make excellent sandwiches. I opt for a thinner sliced bread, but you can choose whatever you like. If you have a thicker bread you may want to decrease the heat so the cheese will melt.

Garlic Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Ingredients

  • 8 slices french bread, sliced

  • 12 slices cheddar cheese

  • Garlic Salt

  • Butter or oil

Directions

  1. Turn pan to meduim

  2. Butter one side of each slice of bread, sprinkle garlic salt on each slice

  3. Put 4 slices bread in pan, top each with 1.5 slices cheese then top with other side of bread

  4. Cook for about 4 minutes, or until golden brown, flip then cook for about 3 minutes or until golden brown

  5. Take out of pan and let sit for a few minutes before cutting or eating

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page