top of page

Cheesy Ricotta Pasta Bake

I make this meal several times a month, usually the day after we have spaghetti, I use the leftover sauce. I love ricotta cheese. Okay, I love most cheeses. But ricotta is special, it is fluffy and soft and so delicious. I really makes dinner time better. I put some ricotta with the sauce and pasta and then also a layer in the middle. It is the best. Ever. Also, I consider this a casserole, but my kids have decided that they hate all casseroles so I have to get creative with the name. For some reason, pasta bake does not make them run screaming. Even though it is the same thing. I do not understand it, but I want them to eat dinner so I just do what I have to.

This pasta bake is great in so many ways, one of my favorite is that it can be made ahead of time and refrigerated until ready to bake. I love things I can cook ahead of time. I do not always want to cook dinner, so these meals are perfect for days that I know I will be tired to too busy at dinner time. If you make ahead, just make sure you take out of the refrigerator before you bake so it can come to room temperature.

Look at all of that cheesy goodness. I love cheese so this recipe does not disappoint. It has so much cheesiness! I love to try ricotta cheese with new things, I love it with pasta and I also love it on pizza.

You can use any pasta you want for this recipe, I have used mini penne (shown), rotini, egg noodles and bow ties. They are all great, my daughter's favorite is mini penne so I use that most often.

You can also add vegetables to this, if you can get away with it. I love it with cauliflower, broccoli, green beans or even corn, but sometimes my family wants their veggies separate. If it was just me, it would have vegetables every time.

If your family likes vegetable separately, this goes great with roasted vegetables, parmesan mushrooms and green beans. It also goes great with cheesy bread. But everything goes with cheesy bread doesn't it?!?!?

I also love the way the noodles around the edges get a little crunchy. I usually pick some out right after it comes out of the oven, they are so irresistible. I also usually pick some cheese off, I cannot help it. It smells so good while it is cooking, the spaghetti sauce, garlic, onion and cheese are the best smell ever.

 

Cheesy Ricotta Pasta Bake

Ingredients

  • 1 lb lean hamburger (I used 4% fat)

  • 1 box mini penne noodles or other small noodles

  • 2 cups ricotta cheese

  • 2 cups cheddar cheese

  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese

  • 2 TBSP minced garlic

  • 1/2 onion

  • 1 tsp black pepper

  • 4 cups spaghetti sauce

Directions

  1. Cook hamburger, garlic, black pepper and onion until done, about 10 minutes, drain fat, if any

  2. Cook noodles according to directions, take out and drain. Do not overcook, they will be in the oven and cook more

  3. Grate cheddar and mozzarella

  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  5. Combine pasta and spaghetti sauce, add meat

  6. add 1/4 cup ricotta to pasta mixture, stir just until spread evenly, chunks are okay

  7. Put half pasta mixture in pan, top with remaining ricotta and 1/2 cup cheddar, 1/3 cup mozzarella

  8. Top with rest of pasta mixture, then the rest of the cheese

  9. Place in oven, cook for about 25 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and starting to brown

  10. Let sit for at least 15 minutes, then serve

Save

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page