top of page

Chicken Taco Meat

I love taco night. I love chicken tacos, beef tacos, steak tacos, they are all delicious! This recipe is easy, you cut up your chicken, add the seasoning and then let it marinate until it is time to cook. Everyone in my family loves it, which I can not say about very many recipes, usually someone does not like some part of most recipes!

You can make this recipe as spicy or as mild as you like, I make mine a little spicy but mild enough for my kids to eat it and not complain. They can tolerate a little spice but not too much. I like the flavor the red pepper flakes add to the meat, but you can use less if you want a milder flavor.

I do not add salt to the seasoning, I do not think it needs it, but you may like to add salt. Try it and see if you think it needs it. Everyone has different tastes so customize it to yours!

I cut my chicken up into chunks, then I put the seasoning on it and put it in a plastic bag. Then I mix it up some more and place it in the refrigerator until I am ready to cook it. I have made it the day before and it turned out great, but usually I cut and season it the morning that I plan to make it. If you do not have time to let it sit, that is fine, it will still be delicious. I have cooked it right after seasoning and everyone still loved it.

The trick to cooking it is, cook it on a high heat. This way it cooks fast and stays juicy on the inside. Also, do not move it after you put it in the pan for at least 3 minutes. Give it time to cook before you flip it.

We love it as taco meat, on taco salads or to make nachos with. It can also be eaten with just vegetables or with noodles. It is very versatile!

 

Chicken Taco Meat

Ingredients

  • 1 lb chicken

  • 1/2 TBSP oil

  • 1 TBSP chili powder

  • 1 tsp onion powder

  • 1 TBSP garlic powder

  • 2 tsp red pepper flakes

  • 2 tsp black pepper

Directions

  1. Heat pan to medium-high

  2. Cut chicken into chunks, add all seasonings

  3. Put oil in pan

  4. Add chicken after oil has heated

  5. Cook chicken for 3 - 4 minutes, then flip, cook 2 - 3 minutes

  6. Check to make sure chicken is done (No pink), take out when done

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page