top of page

Turkey Hash

I love leftovers. They make meal time so much easier and faster. My favorite leftovers are ones that can be made into another meal so you do not feel like you are eating the same meal over and over again. Thanksgiving turkey is the perfect leftover. We made a traditional turkey dinner the first night, the second night we put turkey on rolls and dipped them in gravy, the third night we made this hash and the fourth night we made turkey fettuccine Alfredo. I loved how easy it was to make all those meals without having to cook meat. Plus, they were all delicious and tasted completely different.

Hash can be made with any leftover meat, we have used chicken, corned beef, turkey, kielbasa, pork and ground meats. We love them all. You can add vegetables to the hash if you would like, onion and garlic are great in it. I like to top mine with green onion, sometimes cheese also. I also like to have sour cream with it. It is so delicious! But you can also put gravy on it, that is how my husband and son ate it. I have also eaten it with just hash-browns and meat, it is still great. So, you can make it however you like, as simple as you like, it will still be delicious.

I make sure the hash-browns are cooked all the way before I add the turkey to the pan, you just want to warm the turkey up since it is already cooked. I do not cook the hash-browns until they they are crispy, this is the only time I eat hash-browns that are not crispy! I have cooked them until they are crispy but they always lose the crispiness when I add the meat in so now I just cook them until they are done, some may be a little crispy but most are not.

I do not use a lot of oil since they are not cooking until crispy, I add just enough so they do not stick to the pan. I ate this with my family so I did not make it spicy but if I make it for just me, I usually add some red pepper flakes or a little cayenne pepper for extra flavor. My husband puts Tabasco sauce on his, so you could try that too. He has also put a fried egg on it, if you like fried eggs, try it!

Speaking of eggs, this makes a great breakfast also, we add some beaten eggs right before we put the turkey or whatever meat we are using in. The eggs do not take long to cook and it makes it seem more like a breakfast meal. My husband loves eggs so he will do this for dinner or lunch also.

It goes great with a side of roasted vegetables, cheesy garlic bread or garden green beans! I also love it with Parmesan mushrooms, but not everyone in my family likes mushrooms. Okay, I am the only one that likes mushrooms so I do not always get the because I do not like cooking things just for me! But when I want them, I go to Costco and get the huge package and eat musrhooms for every meal for a few days, then I am good for a little while.

 

Turkey Hash

Ingredients

  • 4 cups shredded hash-browns, frozen

  • 2 cups leftover turkey (cooked and chopped)

  • 2 tsp black pepper

  • 2 tsp seasoning salt

  • 1/2 TBSP oil

  • green onion, cheese, sour cream, gravy, etc for topping it

Directions

  1. Put oil in pan over medium heat, let warm

  2. Add hash-browns and seasonings, let cook for 15 minutes or until done, stirring or flipping occasionally

  3. Add turkey, cook until warm, about 4 - 5 minutes

  4. Top with whatever you would like and serve!

 

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page