top of page

Clam Dip

This dip is so good I cannot make it very often. It is way too addictive. I eat it for breakfast even. It is THAT good. So, when I do make it, I make a big batch and eat it for days. For pretty much every meal. I also make it occasionally when I am having guests and I want to be nice and share. Everyone loves it, so be prepared to make a lot of extra. It will turn out to not be extra.

I usually serve it with Frito's Scoops or Ruffles, but you can use any chip or cracker that you like. Just make sure it is somewhat sturdy, it is a pretty thick dip.

This is an easy recipe, there are not a lot of ingredients, the only hard part about it is knowing it is in your refrigerator and trying to not eat it. It is hard! But I know that it tastes best after a couple of days and I know I should save some for my guests, so I am trying really hard!

Make sure you taste the dip after you combine it, you may want to add more lemon juice or Worcestershire sauce. Sometimes I add more. You can also add more after it has sat and the flavors have mingled.

I try to make the dip at least a day or two ahead of time, it lets the flavors mingle and taste their best. But I won't lie, I always have a small bowl the first day, it is still delicious but I think it reaches new heights in flavor the longer it sits. I am not sure how long you can keep it in your refrigerator for, it never lasts more than a couple of days in mine. I made this batch for New Years day, but I have already been in it a couple of times. Hopefully there is some left when my guests get here!

I use light cream cheese when I make this dip but you can use regular, it tastes great either way! You can use chopped clams or minced clams, it just dpeends on how big you like your clam chunks.

You can make this dip as thick or as thin as you like, you can add more clam juice to make it thinner or less to make it thicker. I use about a quarter of each can of clam's juice for mine, it comes out creamy and thick, but not too thick! It will thicken when you refrigerator it, but if you let it warm for a few minutes it will get a little thinner. An important part to this recipe is, use room temperature cream cheese! This makes it easy to stir and you can see what kind of consistency you have.

 

Clam Dip

Ingredients

  • 4 8 ounce block of cream cheese, I used light

  • 4 6.5 cans clams, reserve juice from one can (more if you want it thinner)

  • 2 tsp lemon juice

  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Let cream cheese come to room temperature

  2. Put all ingredients in bowl, except reserved juice

  3. Mix ingredients, add about one can of juice, stir to combine

  4. Refrigerate until serving

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page