top of page

Italian Sausage Soup


A couple of days ago, I had it in my head that I just wanted a really good soup. I browsed some recipes online, and didn’t really see anything that was going to satisfy my needs. I decided to just buy some ingredients and fly by the seat of my pants, and it ended up AMAZING.

I made a huge stock pot full of this soup, and I didn’t get measurements on just about everything. But, you also have to consider your own personal tastes. What I have measurements for, I will list for you.

Ingredients:

Ground Mild Italian Sausage (I had about 1 ½ lbs) 3 Small Onions (our onions in the store are so small right now, adjust accordingly) Garlic (I made a ton of this soup so I used a whole head) Celery Carrots Mushrooms 1 or 2 Cans of Petite Diced Tomatoes (Drained) 2 32oz Cartons of Chicken Broth 1 Head of Cabbage Water (optional) Bullion Cubes (optional) Salt and Pepper Dry Italian Seasoning

Start by chopping all of your vegetables into larger chunks. In a large pot, brown the ground sausage, then add in the chopped garlic and onion. Cook until the onion starts to get tender. Then add in the chopped carrot (which I bought already done, so much easier) and celery. Towards the end of that cooking, add in the mushrooms and seasonings.

Once all of your veggies are cooked, add in the chicken broth. I didn’t have enough to cover my ingredients, and then have room for the cabbage later, so I filled one of the broth cartons with water and added that, with a few bullion cubes. Also, add in the can(s) of the diced tomatoes.

Bring this to a boil and let it simmer for about 20 to 30 minutes. Toss in the chopped cabbage and cook until tender.

And that’s basically it! Everything in this recipe can be changed, from the type of meat, to different vegetables, and even the broth! It’s a really great soup for those cold days when you just need something to warm your bones!

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page