top of page

Cheesiest Fettuccine Alfredo

This is one of the rare meals that my whole family can eat, we all love the cheesy goodness! It is hard to find meals like that so I try to make this fairly often so I am not making more than one dinner. Fairly often usually means less than once a month but that makes it more special. This meal is frequently requested for birthdays and other special occasions. We also make it when we have guests over, it is easy to double or even triple the recipe, and so far, everyone has loved it.

I make my sauce a little spicy, not too much, my kids can still eat it but I do have cayenne pepper in mine. You can leave it out if you do not like spice. It is good both ways.

Mine also has quite a bit of cheese. I am pretty sure the cheese is the whole reason why we love it so much. It makes the sauce creamy and thick. When I eat Alfredo, I want the sauce to coat the noodles, which this sauce does perfectly.

When I make Fettuccine Alfredo, I make vegetables and chicken but I keep everything separate so everyone can get what they want. I like mine all in one bowl, my daughter likes her chicken with her pasta but the vegetables on the side and my son likes to change things so I never know what he wants. This is really helpful when you have company, I know a lot of people that do not like cauliflower or broccoli so it is helpful to let everyone choose. I do not want to force people to eat things they do not like. I also do not want my delicious vegetables wasted, so separate it is!

I make the sauce using fat free milk, it is what we use for everything. It turns out thick and creamy still. I know some people only cook with whole milk but I do not. I use fat free milk, sour cream and sometimes cottage cheese. Everything turns out delicious. Use what you normally use and already have.

This recipe goes great with several side dishes. Cheesy garlic bread is always a hit. If you make your vegetables on the side like I do, you can make roasted vegetables, Parmesan mushrooms or garden green beans.

 

Cheesiest Fettuccine Alfredo

Ingredients

  • 3 TBSP butter

  • 3 TBSP flour

  • 3 cups milk

  • 2 cups parmesan cheese

  • 2 tsp garlic powder

  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (more or less to taste)

  • 1 tsp black pepper

  • 1 lb fettuccine noodles

  • Cooked chicken breast

  • Cooked cauliflower and broccoli

Directions

  1. Put water in a pan, boil, add noodles, cook for about 10 minutes or until done, drain water

  2. Put butter in pan, let melt, add flour. Cook for 2 minutes, add milk, stir and let cook for about 4 minutes or until sauce thickens. Add cheese, pepper, garlic and cayenne pepper.

  3. Mix sauce and noodles. Serve with chicken, vegetables, bread, etc.

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page