top of page

Cabbage and Cauliflower

I love easy side dishes, and it does not get much easier than this one. Cabbage and cauliflower takes only minutes to prep, then you can cook them together.

I usually prep my vegetables for dinner earlier in the day, if possible. It makes dinner time seem much faster. I cut the cauliflower into large chunks, then rinse it. Then I chop the cabbage into large chunks and rinse it as well. Make sure you do not cut your cabbage too small or it will cook too fast. If you do cut it too small, do not add it until after the cauliflower has been cooking for a little while. I like my cabbage cooked, but not cooked so much that it tastes like mush.

I use Better than Bouillon, chicken flavored, but you can use chicken broth or even just water. I hate opening a can of chicken broth just to use a small amount and I do not usually have a box of it. I usually make my own broth if I am going to use it, but I have Better than Bouillon as a back up. Here is a link to it if you have never used it. I buy mine at Costco, it is a good deal for a large container there. I use it when I do not have chicken broth or I need a little extra flavor.

This side dish goes with any dinner. I always have cauliflower and cabbage in my refrigerator because I love this side dish so much. I love that I can put it in a pan and pretty much forget about it, I usually stir it a few times but that is it. It is a very easy and delicious side dish. Not to mention healthy. I like to get my vegetables in, but I also want them to taste good!

This side dish can be easily altered to fit what you are eating, I have added teriyaki sauce when we were having teriyaki chicken, I have added red pepper flakes when I wanted something spicy, I have added extra garlic when I wanted a little extra flavor. I also use different kinds of garlic, sometimes I used minced garlic, sometimes garlic powder and sometimes garlic salt. It really just depends on what I am in the mood for and also what other seasonings I am using. You can put any seasoning on it that you like. I listed the general seasonings I use below, but I often add other stuff, it just depends on what I am having with it.

The main thing to remember when cooking cabbage and cauliflower is, do not let it over cook. It will turn to mush if you cook it too long. The easiest way to see if it is done is to pierce each with a fork and make sure they are cooked through. If you still are not sure, take one piece of each out of the pan, let cool for a few moments then try them. Everyone likes their vegetables cooked different so just make sure you make yours how you like them. I like mine cooked but not mushy. I like the cabbage to have a little crunchiness to it but not too much. Needless to say, I am the only one that cooks my cabbage! I am a little too picky about it.

Cabbage and Cauliflower

Ingredients

  • 1/2 head cabbage

  • 1/2 head cauliflower

  • 1 tsp black pepper

  • 1 TBSP garlic salt

  • 1/2 cup water

  • 1 tsp Better than Bouillon Base (or chicken broth)

Directions

  1. Put everything in pan, over medium heat

  2. Cook for about 13 minutes, more or less to taste, stir occasionally

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page