top of page

Shredded Steak Taco Meat

Tacos are one of my families favorite meals. I love them because everyone is happy. They can pick their own toppings for their tacos, they can pick soft or crunchy shells, or chips or lettuce instead. Tacos are one of the easiest dinners to make also, which is just another bonus. We alternate between beef, chicken, ground turkey and shredded steak tacos. My husband also likes fish tacos so he has those sometimes.

Shredded steak tacos are very versatile, you can make tacos but you can also make nachos or a taco salad. I make the meat a little spicy, but not too spicy that my kids cannot eat it. They can tolerate a little heat, which is great because it gives the meat a great flavor. You can use less, more, or even none of the red pepper flakes to adjust the amount of spiciness.

Shredded steak tacos are one of my favorite taco meats to cook. I put a big chunk of meat in the crockpot with taco seasoning, let it cook all day then just shred the meat and serve! I make my own taco seasoning so I can control the spiciness and other ingredients. Here is a link to my recipe. I cover the meat on all sides with the seasoning then place it in the crockpot. You do not have to add any liquids, the fat will cook and make juices for the meat. The meat turns out juicy and delicious and perfectly shreddable! I put onion slices under the meat, but you do not have to. You could also add other vegetables if you like, such as carrots or garlic.

After the meat is done cooking, I cut the fat off of it then start shredding the meat. I put the shredded meat back in the crockpot so it can soak up the taco season and juices. You do not have to leave it there long, just long enough to stir it and get all the meat covered.

I used a roast to make this meat, beef bottom round roast, to be exact but you can use any roast that will shred. The good thing about roasts are, they are usually cheap and you can get a lot of meat out of them. There was fat that had to be cut off the roast, but because the fat was there, I did not have to use any liquids to cook the roast in.

You can make your own taco seasoning, like I did, or you can use store bought. I like to make my own so I do not have to remember to buy any and I also like to know what is going into it. You can even just put salsa over the roast if you want, it turns out delicious also.

 

Shredded Steak

Taco Meat

Ingredients

  • 3 - 4 lb Beef Bottom Round Roast, or any large chunk of meat that will shred

  • Onion, sliced

  • Taco Seasoning

  • Taco shells, hard and/or crunchy

  • Tortilla Chips

  • Lettuce, cheese, onions, sour cream, guacamole, tomatoes, etc

Directions

  1. Make taco seasoning, cover meat in taco seasoning

  2. Place sliced onion in bottom of crockpot then place meat in crockpot on low, cook for 7 - 8 hours, you could also put it on high and reduce the hours to 3.5 - 4

  3. Take meat out of crockpot, cut off any fat, shred the rest and place back in crockpot. Serve with tortilla shells, chips, lettuce and other garnishments

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page