top of page

Ground Turkey, Cabbage and Vegetable Soup

This soup has a great flavor, it is a mix of cabbage rolls and soup. I love it! But then again, I love most soups. If you like cabbage rolls, I think you will like this soup. The great thing about this soup is, you can use any vegetables you like, sometimes I add green beans or broccoli to it. People in my family eat it over rice, they say it is delicious that way too. I do not eat rice so I can not tell you how delicious it is, but they really enjoy it!

The first thing I do it cut up all the vegetables, I want to be able to start cooking the onions, cabbage and carrots before I make the actual soup. Once the vegetables are cut and put in the pan, let it cook until it is tender, then I can start adding other parts.

While the vegetables cook, I cook the ground turkey. I season it a little with some powdered garlic or minced garlic, then I just let it cook until it is no longer pink. I drain the grease and then add it to the vegetables when they are done.

Next, I add everything else EXCEPT the cabbage, cauliflower and mushrooms. You do not want to add those too early or they will get mushy. I do not like mushy vegetables so I wait until the very end to add those.

You should cook the soup at least 30 minutes before you add the cabbage, cauliflower and mushrooms, this gives it time to mix all the flavors together, especially the red pepper flakes.

The amount of red pepper flakes is up to you. I like to add enough so that I know it is there but not too strong, I don't want to burn my mouth or throat. If you are not sure how much to use, add a little then taste it and see if you should add more.

This soup reheats pretty well, the cabbage will be more wilted but it still tastes great. Just be sure to not reheat it for too long or the cabbage will get mushy.

Ground Turkey, Cabbage

and Vegetable Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 lb lean ground turkey, cooked

  • 4 carrots, chopped

  • 3 stalks celery, chopped

  • 1/2 onion, chopped

  • 1/2 head cauliflower, cut into bite sized pieces

  • 1/2 head cabbage, chopped

  • 1/2 lb mushrooms, sliced and cooked

  • 5 cups chicken broth (or 5 cups water and 1 TBSP Better than Bouillon Chicken flavor)

  • Black pepper to taste

  • 1/2 TBSP red pepper flakes

  • 1 can petite tomatoes, no salt added

  • 1 TBSP minced or powdered garlic

Directions

  1. Put onions, celery and carrots in a pot, cook for about 8 minutes, or until tender. Stir occasionally

  2. Cook ground turkey in separate pan, drain any grease

  3. When vegetables and ground turkey are done, put the ground turkey in the pot with the vegetables and add all other ingredients, EXCEPT cabbage, cauliflower and mushrooms

  4. Cook for at least 30 minutes, longer is fine, but cook for at least 30 minutes on low

  5. Add cabbage, cauliflower and mushrooms. Cook for 10 minutes or until they are cooked to your liking

  6. Serve

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page