top of page

Cheesy Cauliflower Soup

Soup is one of the best types of food. You can make any kind of soup, with any ingredients. This soup was made for my son, he loves clam chowder but he does not like the clams, so I thought I would make a thick soup for him that is similar. He loves it! He ate several bowls, next time I will have to make a bigger batch. The good thing about soup is, you can change the flavor of it by just changing a few ingredients or seasonings. I am going to make a garlic version of this soup, I think it will be delicious. I am also going to try to add more vegetables, like carrots and potatoes.

The first time I make a recipe, I like to keep it simple. I like to know if I like the basic recipe before I get creative with it. This recipe is definitely a good base for many soups. You could even change the cheeses, parmesan cheese would be a great change. It would add a totally different flavor.

You could also add meat to this soup. I think that chicken or ham would go good with it. I will try it and let you know! Bacon would be delicious on top of it also. So would a little extra cheese. I will definitely be making this soup again, with some of the extra ingredients and I will update this post. Let me know if you try anything different and what you think of it.

I like to puree part of the cauliflower and leave part of it in chunks. You can puree all of it if you want a smoother soup, but we loved the chunks in it.

I used butter, flour and milk for the broth part, but you could use heavy cream instead. I do not usually have heavy cream so I make it instead. I use fat free milk, it turns out thick and delicious but you can use any milk that you have. I have been using almond flour for many things lately, next time I will make it with that and see if it is as good. I bet it will be.

 

Cheesy Cauliflower Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 head of cauliflower

  • 2 cups white cheddar cheese

  • 2 TBSP butter

  • 2 TBSP flour

  • 2 cups milk

  • 2 tsp garlic powder

  • Black pepper, to taste

  • Chives, optional

Directions

  1. Chop cauliflower into bite sized pieces, put in a pan with water and cook until fork tender, about 10 minutes

  2. In a separate pan, melt butter, then add flour. Cook butter and flour for one minute. Add milk, stir until thickened, 4 -5 minutes. Add cheese, stir

  3. When cauliflower is done, drain water

  4. Add half the cauliflower to the cheese sauce, put the other half in a food processor. When it is pureed, add it to the cheese sauce

  5. Add garlic powder and black pepper

  6. Let simmer for 20 minutes, then serve, top with chives or extra cheese if you would like

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page