top of page

Homemade Hashbrowns

I love potatoes in pretty much any form, but hashbrowns would be at the top of my list. I love how they are crunchy yet so soft, at the same time! I love homemade hashbrowns the most because they can be cooked and seasoned perfectly. They take a little longer than frozen hashbrowns, but they are very worth it!

First, I cook the potatoes in the oven until they are fork tender. I bought extra large potatoes, they are huge so I only needed two. If you have smaller potatoes use four. My huge potatoes took about an hour to get fork tender at 350 degrees but if you use smaller potatoes, check them sooner. I usually cook smaller potatoes for 30 - 45 minutes, depending on how small they are. Next, I let the potatoes cool, this can take a little while but you can speed it up by cutting the potatoes in halves or quarters, or if you have time, place them in the refrigerator overnight. I do this when we have baked potatoes for dinner, I just put a couple extra in, it makes breakfast simple and fast!

When potatoes are cooled, use a grater to grate them. I use my cheese grater, I like the size of the holes on it, it is perfect for potatoes. After you grate the potatoes, put some oil in a pan and heat it up then add the potatoes and the seasoning. I use simple seasonings, just seasoned salt, garlic powder and black pepper.

I let them cook for a few minutes then check to see if they are nice and brown, if they are, I flip them and cook them for a few more minutes. They turn out perfect since they are cooked ahead of time and you are just crisping them up in the pan!

You can enjoy them plain, or you can make deluxe hashbrowns and add bacon, cheese and sour cream. I also like to add green onions to mine!

 

Homemade Hashbrowns

Ingredients

  • 2 extra large baking potatoes

  • 1 TBSP oil

  • 1 tsp seasoning salt

  • 1 tsp garlic powder

  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

Directions

  1. Cook potatoes in oven at 350 degrees for an hour, or until fork tender

  2. Let potatoes cool, then grate potatoes, discard any skin that is tough

  3. When potatoes are cool, turn pan onto medium heat, add oil, then add potatoes. Season potatoes

  4. Cook for about 5 minutes, check to make sure they are browning, then flip and cook for about 4 minutes or until otherside is also brown

Save

Save

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page