top of page

Kid Favorite Nacho Cheese Sauce

My kids love dips but they are picky about their dips. This dip pleases both of my kids and all of their friends. It is easy to make and I always have the ingredients in my house. It tastes better than the kind that comes in jars or cans, plus I know what is going in it. My kids prefer this dip also.

My kids love when I make macaroni and cheese because they love the sauce so much. This sauce is almost the same but I leave out the cayenne pepper when I make the dip for kids. When I make it for adults I will get a little more creative and add cayenne pepper, green chiles, beans, salsa or even meat. I like to change it and see what everyone likes. So far, the kids are a big fan of the basic sauce! I use cheddar cheese and monterey usually, but I have also used other cheeses like pepper jack and mozzarella. They all taste delicious.

I start by melting the butter, then I add the flour. After that cooks for a minute I add the milk and I whisk it for a few minutes. Next, I add the cheese.

If I add onions or garlic, they go in with the butter, if I add cayenne pepper or other seasonings, they go in after the milk. The meat and salsa goes in after the cheese.

Before I start cooking I measure out all my ingredient and grate the cheese so that I do not have to stop and do things while I am making the sauce. It makes it much easier, and my kids can help then. They are very good at measuring things and grating cheese. They love to help in the kitchen so I always include them when possible.

This recipe is easy to make more or less of, just use equal amounts of butter and flour and use the same number of cups of milk as you used for the butter and flour. If it is just my kids eating, I usually do one TBSP butter, one TBSP flour and one cup of milk, and one cup total for cheese, that is plenty for them to share.

My kids like to dip tortilla chips in this dip but they also like rolled up tortillas and pretzels. Sometimes I go to a local German restaurant and get them giant soft pretzels, they love to dip those in the dip! Other times I just get a bag of regular pretzels or pretzel rods and they dip those.

 

Kid Favorite Nacho

Cheese Sauce

Ingredients

  • 3 TBSP butter

  • 3 TBSP flour

  • 3 cups milk

  • 2 cups sharp cheddar cheese

  • 1 cup monetery jack cheese

  • Extras - onions, garlic, green chiles, tomatoes, jalapenos, cayenne pepper, salsa, meat, beans, etc.

  • Chips, tortillas, pretzels

Directions

  1. Melt butter in pan over medium heat, add flour, stir and cook for about one minute

  2. Add milk, whisk until thickened, about 3 minutes

  3. Add cheeses, stir to combine

  4. Add any extras

  5. Serve

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page