top of page

Loaded Homemade Hashbrowns

I love making homemade hashbrowns, not only are they delicious, they are actually quite easy to make. I always cook extra potatoes when I make them and put the extras in the refrigerator. All I have to do when it is time to cook is grate them and season. So easy!

Loaded hashbrowns take regular hashbrowns to a whole new level. I love that everyone can pick their own toppings so they are happy. It is hard to find dishes that everyone is willing to eat, so anytime I can make do it yourself meals, I do! For loaded hashbrowns I usually cook turkey bacon or regular bacon, sausage, grate a few cheeses and have sour cream. Everyone can pick what they want and make their own meal. I personally love turkey bacon or regular bacon on mine, with some cheese and sour cream. I also add chives if I have them, they add a unique flavor that I love.

You could also use taco meat, chicken, steak, ham, or any other leftover meat you have. The hashbrowns are just the base of the meal, the way you choose to build them is entirely up to you! Get creative, make a pizza like loaded hashbrown...maybe a little sausage, pepperoni and mozzarella? Or taco loaded hashbrowns, taco meat, cheese, olives, salsa, and sour cream. Or chicken bacon ranch! The possibilities are endless. All you need is some great hashbrowns to start with then go from there.

Loaded Homemade Hashbrowns

Ingredients

  • 2 extra large baking potatoes

  • 1 TBSP oil

  • 1 tsp seasoning salt

  • 1 tsp garlic powder

  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

  • Cheddar cheese

  • Bacon, Regular or turkey bacon

  • Sour cream

  • Chives

  • Any other toppings you like, sausage, salsa, ketchup, eggs, ham, mozzarella cheese, etc

Directions

  1. Cook potatoes in oven at 350 degrees for an hour, or until fork tender

  2. Let potatoes cool, then grate potatoes, discard any skin that is tough

  3. When potatoes are cool, turn pan onto medium heat, add oil, then add potatoes. Season potatoes

  4. Cook for about 5 minutes, check to make sure they are browning, then flip and cook for about 4 minutes or until other side is also brown

  5. Put on plate and top with whatever toppings you would like. If you want your cheese melted, add while hashbrowns are still in the pan

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page