top of page

The Black Book By James Patterson Review


I have been reading James Patterson for year now, I am still as impressed now as I was when I first started reading his books. It all started with one book, then I had to read all of his books. I spent a lot of time finding all of his books that had previously been released and eagerly awaited his new books. I get very excited when I get an email saying he has a new book coming out. The hard part is the waiting for it to actually be released.

James Patterson writes stand along books and also book series. He has several series, such as Alex Cross, Michael Bennett, The Woman's Murder Club, NYPD Red and some young adult series. He also has a growing list of bookshots that he writes, I will write a separate review for those and link it to this one. Not all of his books fall into the murder/mystery/thriller/crime/suspense category. I was a little nervous when I read his first book that did not fit that category, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that he does excellent across all writing categories. He is a master storyteller, he is able to draw you into the book and makes you want to keep reading to see what happens.

The Black Book is another great book of his, I had my expectations high and it did not disappoint. It had me guessing all the way up until the very end of the book. I loved it. As usual, the book was filled with action and excitement. I do not want to give too much away, but I will summarize it a bit.

Bill Harney was pretty much born to be a police officer. He followed in his father's footsteps, along with his sister. He knew the job and knew how to do it well. He had a partner that complimented his style of policing, Kate Fenton. They did not always agree on what to do but they got along great and made a good team. They have a night where some things out of the ordinary happen and they are introduced to Amy Lentini, she is an assistant state's attorney and she is determined to find something that they did wrong. I do not want to say too much more about the book, there are several surprises along the way and I do not want to ruin those. But, since the book is called The Black Book, you can guess that a black book is involved, it is and that is what Amy Lentini is after. She is sure that Harney and Fenton have more knowledge about it than they are giving up. She is determined to find that black book, no matter what she has to do.

This book was very hard to put down, I always wanted to get to the next part, then when I read the next part I wanted to read the next, it kept happening! To me, those are the best books, the ones that you do not want to put down and you want to just keep going. James Patterson is very good at not letting the story get boring, he does not dwell on things, he moves the story along.

On the back cover of the book, James Patterson has a quote, he says that The Black Book is one of his best books he has written, and I completely agree. If I had to make a top 20 book list he would be on there several times, this book definitely included. I honestly have not read one of his books and thought it was a bad book. Of course I like some over others but I truly enjoy all of the books I have read of James Patterson.

Several of James Patterson's book have been turned into movies, I hope this one is, I would definitely watch it! I know movies are never as good as the books, but I still enjoy watching them and comparing the book to the movie.

Here is a link to the book if you would like to purchase it, if you like mystery, suspense, thriller, crime and murder, I do not think you will regret it, I definitely did not.

Look for more books reviews to come! I love reading, it is my favorite hobby. I will not be sharing any books that I do not love. I know everyone has their own opinion on books and I do not want to say anything negative about the books, but I will share the ones I love!

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page