top of page

Biscuit Topped Chicken and Gravy Casserole

I got the idea for this casserole one day because I had cooked a whole bunch of chicken breasts in the oven and I had a lot of juices from the chicken. I knew I was going to make gravy but I was trying to think of something that could be made ahead of time and use a lot of gravy. That is how this recipe was born. I made the whole casserole, except I did not add the biscuits, and put if in the refrigerator for dinner that night, it turned out perfect and was a huge hit.

This casserole is pretty simple to make, but there are a few steps so it takes a little while to make, but not too long. The first thing I did was put the chicken in the oven, I put 7 chicken breasts with the skin in a pan, seasoned with garlic powder, black pepper and seasoning salt. I cooked them low so they took about an hour to cook. When they were done I let them cool then I took the skin off and discarded it. I think took the rest of the meat off the bone and shredded it into large chunks. Then I cut the chunks into smaller bite sized pieces. I then let the juice cool off until I could pour it in a pan and then I heated it up again. I mixed flour and milk in a mixer cup and shook them until they were well combined and there were no chunks of flour. Then I added it to the chicken broth and let it cook until it was thick.

Next, I combined the chicken, peas, onions, carrots, seasoning and gravy into a large pan. I usually make this in the morning so I refrigerate it at this point, but if you are going to put it in the oven, add the biscuits. If not, wait to add the biscuits until you are ready to put it in the oven.

This recipe is a huge hit in my house. And it is very versatile. You can use any vegetables you want and any part of the chicken, dark meat is wonderful in it also. You can make it faster by using packaged gravy, if you want. You can use already made biscuits, refrigerated biscuits or frozen. I have used all and my family loves it any way I make it. The main thing you need to do is make sure the biscuits are cooked all the way through when you take it out of the oven.

 

Biscuit Topped Chicken

and Gravy Casserole

Ingredients

  • 2 cups chopped chicken

  • 2 cups petite peas

  • 2 tsp oil

  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced

  • 1/4 cup onion, chopped

  • 1/4 cup flour

  • 3 cups chicken broth

  • 1 cup milk

  • 2 tsp black pepper

  • 2 tsp garlic salt

  • 6 - 8 biscuits

Directions

  1. Place the chicken broth in a large pot, turn heat to medium

  2. Place flour and milk in a mixer cup, shake until well blended

  3. Pour the flour and milk mixture into the chicken broth, stir until boiling, turn the heat down to medium low and cook for a few minutes, until thick

  4. Place carrots and onion in a pan with oil, cook for about 8 minutes or until tender

  5. Combine gravy, chicken, peas, carrots and onions, place into oven safe pan, top with biscuits

  6. Place into an oven heated to 350 degrees, cook until biscuits are done, about 15 - 20 minutes

  7. Let sit for at least 10 minutes, then serve Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page