top of page

Cornflake Chicken

Crispy cornflake chicken is one of my favorite meals. I was not sure I would like it, but I do, it has a great taste and it is the crunchiest chicken I have ever had. I now prefer this chicken to any other crispy chicken, it really is that good!

Making this chicken is extremely easy, all I did was split the chicken breasts length wise so they are only half as thick, then I cut each of those in half. Each chicken breast becomes 4 smaller chicken pieces, which was perfect for what we were doing, were were making sandwiches.

Next, I dipped the chicken pieces in a flour mixture, then some eggs and then the crushed cornflakes. I pushed the cornflakes onto the chicken as much as possible, I wanted full coverage.

Next I baked some and deep fried some. They both turned out delicious, it just depends on your personal preference. Baking is obviously healthier because it includes no oil, both turned out very crispy.

We were making ours into sandwiches so we used a good sourdough bread and toasted it, then added lettuce and onions. It was perfect. It was one of the best sandwiches I have ever had.

You can also serve the chicken without making it into a sandwich, I had a few bites of my chicken before I made it into a sandwich and it is delicious plain. You could serve it with macaroni and cheese, oven fries, roasted vegetables or pasta salad.

 

Cornflake Chicken

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts

  • 3 cups cornflakes, crushed

  • 3 eggs, beaten

  • 2 cups flour, with 1 TBSP seasoning salt, 2 tsp black pepper 1 tsp cayenne pepper and 2 tsp garlic powder

  • 3 cups oil (unless you are baking, then no oil)

Directions

  1. Cut chicken to split open (lengthwise) , then cut in half again

  2. Dip chicken in flour mixture then eggs then cornflakes

  3. Set chicken on plate until all pieces are covered

If baking, put on pan and put in 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until no longer pink.

If deep frying, heat oil and put one piece in at a time, about 6 minutes or until golden brown and cooked through

SaveSave

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page