top of page

Crunchy Chocolate Peanut Butter Treats

Crunchy Chocolate Peanut Butter Treats are a recipe my husband requested for his birthday dessert. He said his grandma used to make them and he loved them, so he called his grandma and got the recipe. I will admit, I was a little unsure of this dessert. My husband is known to eat some weird things. It has Total cereal for the crunchy part and I did not know how that would turn out. Well....it turned out delicious. I loved them!

The recipe is actually really simple to make, just heat and mix things together. We made it in less than 10 minutes then put it in the refrigerator to cool. That was the hard part, I wanted to try them so bad! I love peanut butter so I was really hoping I would like this dessert.

First, I went shopping for the ingredients, I found everything except the Total cereal. I could not find it anywhere. His grandma says they sell it everywhere where she lives and she said it is not as good with other cereals. If you cannot find it, you can order it here.

Here are the other ingredients, I used creamy peanut butter but you could use crunchy, I think I will try it next time, I love crunchy peanut butter!

Once you have all the ingredients, it is pretty simple. You cook the Karo syrup and sugar together in a pan, as soon as it starts to boil, take it off the heat. Then add the peanut butter and Total cereal. Mix that together well and put in a pan sprayed with cooking spray.

Next, melt the chocolate chips and butterscotch chips in a pan with the milk. You can also use a double boiler for this, whatever you are most comfortable with. Just make sure you use a low heat. When the chips are all the way melted, pour them over the cereal mixture and spread them evenly. Refrigerate the pan for at least an hour, you want the chocolate to cool and become firm. Enjoy!

 

Crunchy Chocolate

Peanut Butter Treats

Ingredients

  • 2 packages chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate)

  • 1 package butterscotch chips

  • 1/4 cup milk (I used fat free)

  • 1 cup Karo syrup

  • 1 cup sugar

  • 1 cup peanut butter

  • 4 cups Total cereal

Directions

  1. Heat Karo syrup and sugar over medium heat, remove from heat when it starts to boil

  2. Add peanut butter and Total cereal to Karo syrup mixture, mix well

  3. Spray 9 x 14 pan with cooking spray

  4. Add cereal mixture to pan, spread evenly

  5. In a separate pan, melt chocolate chips, butterscotch chips and milk. When melted, pour over cereal mixture and spread evenly

  6. Put in refrigerator for at least an hour or until chocolate is firm

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page