top of page

How to Make a Macaroni and Cheese Bar


Sometimes the hardest part about cooking for my family is finding food that everyone will eat. Taco night is easy because everyone picks their own food, so I decided to expand on this idea and make a macaroni and cheese bar. It was a hit! Everyone got to pick what they wanted to go in their macaroni and cheese, or in some cases, on the side. Everyone was happy and it was a pretty easy meal. I love when everyone can eat the same meal!

I make the macaroni and cheese homemade, everyone in my family likes it the best. I love it because I can pick what kinds of cheese I want to use, sometimes I use sharp cheddar and medium cheddar, other times I use gouda or pepperjack. I also add a little cayenne pepper for a little spice, but my kids can still eat it and they do not like spicy things. You can adjust the cayenne pepper to your families needs.

Next, I pick at least two different kinds of meats so we have options. This time I picked chicken breast and lean hamburger, everyone in my family likes both so it was easy. Other good options are kielbasa, steak, hotdogs, or any other meat that your family enjoys.

The final option is vegetables, there are so many vegetable options! This time I picked cauliflower and broccoli, but you can pick any that you want. I love mushrooms with mine, nobody else in my family does so I just cook a small pan. We also love it with green beans and corn. Other options include tomatoes, avocados, asparagus, or any other vegetable anyone in your family likes. This is a great way to get people to eat their vegetables!

I mixed mine extras in my bowl, but my daughter had everything on the side. Making many options means everyone can pick what they like and eat it how they want. It means I do not have to keep telling people to eat their dinner, which always makes me happy.

 

Macaroni and Cheese

Bar

Ingredients

  • Different kinds of vegetables, examples are broccoli, cauliflower, green beans, onions, mushrooms, tomatoes

  • Different kinds of meat, examples, chicken, hamburger, ground turkey/chicken, kielbasa, hotdogs, steak

  • Different kinds of cheese, mozzarella, cheddar, pepperjack, colby, etc

Directions

  1. Make the macaroni and cheese, according to directions below

  2. Cook meats and vegetables while cooking macaroni and cheese

  3. Let everyone put their food in their own bowls, do not mix anything in the macaroni and cheese

20 Minute 3 Cheese

Mac and Cheese

Ingredients

  • 1lb elbow noodles

  • 3 TBSP butter

  • 3 TBSP flour

  • 3 cups milk

  • 2 cups sharp cheddar

  • 1 cup medium cheddar

  • 1/4 cup parmesan

  • 1/2 tsp cayenne

  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Directions

  1. Fill a pot with water, boil

  2. While water heats, grate cheese and measure all other ingredients

  3. Add noodles to boiling water

  4. In separate pan, melt butter, once melted, add flour. Mix well, cook for 1 minute

  5. Add milk to butter/flour mixture, cook until thick, about 3 to 4 minutes

  6. Once thickened, add seasoning to sauce

  7. Add cheese to sauce, stir

  8. Noodles will take about 12 minutes, drain when done then add to sauce

  9. Either serve or refrigerate

Save

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page