top of page

Cauliflower Casserole

I love cauliflower. I have been making this casserole since before it became popular to substitute cauliflower for potatoes, it has always been a favorite side dish. I eat cauliflower just about any way imaginable, roasted, steamed, raw, boiled, in bbq foil packets, in casseroles...I just love it!

Now it is easier to make because I can buy cauliflower rice instead of having to put cauliflower in the food processor or chop it by hand. I got this large bag of cauliflower rice from Costco, but I have also bought it at other grocery stores. It seems to be pretty popular right now. It also makes a delicious mashed cauliflower or stir fry.

Here is another option

If you cannot find cauliflower rice or just want to do it yourself, you can either chop it with a knife or put chunks in your food processor. It really depends on what size chunks you want. The cauliflower rice makes a smaller chunk while chopping it with a knife you can leave it a little larger. I love it both ways. Sometimes I just leave the cauliflower in large chunks, it is great that way too!

This casserole is very easy to assemble, I cook the cauliflower with a little water in the microwave for a few minutes before I mix everything together, I do not like the cauliflower to be crunchy.

After that I simply mix part of the bacon, cheese and green onions with the cauliflower and all of the sour cream, cream cheese, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Then I top the casserole with the leftover bacon, cheese and green onions after I put it in a pan. All that's left is to bake it. You can either bake it right away or you can put it in the refrigerator for a little while then bake it.

It has a wonderful flavor and texture. My kids even love it. Sometimes they like cauliflower and sometimes they do not, but in this they love it.

You can use turkey bacon instead of real bacon if you want, I love both and think they are both wonderful in this dish. You can also use different cheeses, cheddar is my favorite but mozzarella is also good. If you want to add a little spice, use some pepper jack cheese!

This is a good casserole for anyone that is doing low carb, using cauliflower instead of potatoes makes it a much better option. Low carb diets can be hard to stick to if you are always thinking that you are missing out on food, but if you find some recipes, like this one, that are like other recipes you have had before, with just some modifications it can be a huge difference.

 

Cauliflower Casserole

Ingredients

  • 4 cups finely chopped or riced cauliflower

  • 4 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled, divided

  • 2 cups cheddar cheese, divided

  • 1 cup sour cream

  • 1/2 cup cream cheese

  • 1/4 cup green onions, divided

  • 1 tsp salt

  • 1 tsp pepper

  • 1 TBSP garlic powder

  • 2 TBSP water

Directions

  1. Cook the cauliflower with the water in the microwave for 3 minutes

  2. Drain any excess water

  3. Add 3 strips of crumbled bacon, 1 cup cheese, 1/2 the green onions, all the sour cream, cream cheese, salt and pepper, garlic powder

  4. Mix together well, put in pan

  5. Spread evenly then top with the rest of the cheese, followed by the bacon and the green onions

  6. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and it is heated through

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page