top of page

Creamy Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken


Slow cooker salsa chicken is one of my favorite dinners, it is easy to make, you do not even have to thaw your chicken out, plus it makes great leftovers. Creamy slow cooker salsa chicken takes salsa chicken to the next level. It is still easy, and delicious but it has a wonderful creamy sauce! I had mine over green beans, my kids had their over rice, and my husband had his in a tortilla with rice for dinner last night, we all loved it! I really love that it heated up wonderfully today for lunch! You can add the extra seasonings like I did, or you can make it extra easy and just go for the basics, chicken, salsa and sour cream. I used Pace Picante salsa, medium. You can use whatever kind you like and whatever spiciness you like.

This is a great meal for busy days, you can put everything in your slow cooker earlier in the day and you will have dinner done with no effort at night. I love it! The cream cheese adds a creaminess that makes it a completely different meal than regular salsa chicken. It's hard to believe that one ingredient can change a meal so much!

I shred my chicken into large chunks, I do not like them getting too small because they can get mushy. The large chunks worked perfect for everyone.

You could serve this meal many ways, over rice, vegetables, noodles, by itself, as a dip, turn it into nachos, the possibilities are endless! This meal is great if you are doing low carb, you can have it with low carb vegetables or even by itself. The first time I made it, I ended up eating it by itself because I was so impressed with the flavor, I couldn't bring myself to mix it with anything. Another time I had it with just olives on top, that was delicious too. You could add a little cheese to the top and sour cream and eat it with a fork or with chips, if you are not doing low carb. If you are doing low fat, you can use low fat or no fat cream cheese. There are so many options with this chicken! Try them all!

 

Creamy Slow Cooker Salsa

Chicken

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts

  • 2 cups salsa

  • 1 block cream cheese, 8 oz

  • 1 TBSP garlic powder

  • 2 tsp black powder

  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes

Direction

  1. Trim any fat from chicken

  2. Place 1/2 salsa in the bottom of slow cooker

  3. Place chicken on top of salsa

  4. Put remaining salsa on top of chicken, sprinkle seasoning over salsa

  5. Put block of cream cheese on top of salsa

  6. Cook on low, thawed 4 hours, frozen 7 - 8 hours

  7. Once fully cooked, shred chicken with forks and mix well

  8. Serve!


Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page