top of page

I Got a Pressure Cooker!


I was fortunate enough to have a Power Cooker pressure cooker given to me by my awesome in-laws!

Pressure cookers are a huge deal these days, and it's really easy to see why! They make amazing food in a fraction of the time, and you can do it all in one pot! Now, I'm still absolutely terrified of pressure cookers. I've seen pictures of lids that have gone through the roof, or just exploded right off. Even though I have this terror hiding in the back of my mind, it's definitely not as bad with this one. The lid does not move around while it's under pressure, so you don't have to feel as wary. I did have my husband open it for me the first time though, just to be safe.

My first meal was a simple roast and some veggies. I browned the roast with some oil and garlic right in the pot. Then I added carrots, onion, cabbage, and baby potatoes. I poured in about a cup of stock and that was pretty much it! Locking the lid on was incredibly easy, and then I set the timer for 45 minutes and let it go. That even gave me enough time to have some Rhoades Rolls ready to go!

The cut of beef I used was rather cheap and could have been better. I just found whatever was cheapest. Any type of roast that falls apart easily after cooking would be best. My next recipe attempt may be along the lines of a Jerk Chicken!

The pressure cooker I used will be linked below! If you had any recipe ideas I could try, let me know!

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page