top of page

Chef's Table on Netflix Review


Every now and then I stumble across something on Netflix that I didn't think I needed until I watched it. I had been recommended Chef's Table a few times, but i ignored it because it was clearly an algorithm recommendation trying to help Netflix gain some traction on another original series.

I was hooked within the first 5 minutes.

"In this Emmy-nominated docuseries, find out what's inside the kitchens and minds of the international culinary stars who are redefining gourmet food."

Just from the description, you're thinking you're just going to have someone talking at you about food and the people behind it. At least that's what I thought. But I was completely wrong. Each episode is about a different world class chef. But you don't have a host, or a narrator. Instead, you get the wonderful privilege of the chef, themselves, and the ones closest to them, telling you about their start in cooking, their struggles and low points, the times where they were triumphant, every major experience that lead them into being the famed and celebrated chefs they are today. It's incredibly personal, and humbling to see.

As of right now, there are 3 seasons on Netflix with 6 episodes each, and it's definitely not enough. They also have Chef's Table France which is just 1 season and 4 episodes. I've just began watching France, so I'm getting through the first episode, and it's just as great. With both of these series, I would recommend subtitles. A couple of the chefs do have a strong accent, so it is helpful to read along. And, so far, France has all been in French. I can't say about episodes 2-4.

Have you seen the series before? What did you think? If you haven't, it is definitely one I highly recommend! Let us know!

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page