top of page

Low Carb Enchilada Pie

I decided to make a low carb version of my enchilada pie, I finally found some low carb whole wheat tortillas that I actually like! I tried them out before I made this recipe to make sure I would like them, and they are perfect! They have only 3 grams net carbs per tortilla! And each tortilla is only 50 calories so even if you are not eating low carb, you can still enjoy these because they are low calorie. They also have 8 grams of fiber for each tortilla. The brand is La Tortilla Factory. I got the original size so 10 come in a package.

I also did not use flour like most sauces have, I used cream cheese and sour cream in my sauce instead, it turned out perfect! I use medium green chile enchilada sauce and medium chiles, you can use whatever you want to make it as mild or as spicy as you want. I have to keep mine not so spicy so my kids can eat it also.

I used cheddar cheese this time, but montery jack is very good with it also. My kids like when I use a mexican blend cheese so I use that sometimes too. Pepper jack is good, it adds a little more spice.

This casserole goes great with many sides, we have had rice, refried beans, chips and salsa and everyone loves it! If you want to keep the meal low carb, salad or vegetables goes great with it also. That is usually the option I do, but I will make rice or something else for my family. It is a meal that will definitely be sticking around on my menu, everyone loves the flavor of the sauce and nobody seemed to notice anything different about the tortillas. We used to not like whole wheat tortillas but these have definitely changed our minds, they do not have a weird texture, they are a lot like regular white tortillas.

 

Low Carb

Enchilada Pie

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded

  • 4 low carb original size tortillas (soft taco size)

  • 1 - 28 ounce can green chile enchilada sauce

  • 1 - 7 ounce can chopped green chiles

  • 4 ounces cream cheese

  • 1 cup sour cream

  • 1 cup cheddar cheese

  • 1/2 TBSP garlic powder

  • 1 tsp cumin

  • 1 tsp chili powder

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  2. Put enchilada sauce, garlic powder, cumin, chili powder and cream cheese in a pan, cook about 10 minutes, or until cream cheese is mostly melted. Shut heat off and add sour cream, mix well

  3. Place a scoop of enchilada sauce/cream cheese mixture in the bottom of a baking pan

  4. Place one tortilla in pan, top with 1/3 of chicken and 1/4 of sauce, repeat until all tortillas and chicken are used, top with the remaining sauce and cheese

  5. Bake for 30 minutes or until bubbly

  6. Let sit for 15 minutes before serving

  7. Serve with additional sour cream, if desired

Spices and Life
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page